The Life of a Steemer

in #steemthought8 years ago


pre-altered source image - Comfreak-51581

Introduction

I don't know about you, but recently I've experienced a mind bending array of emotions and thoughts regarding the launch of Steem and Steemit. To say that it has been a challenge to comprehend what this platform is, how it's economics work, the numerous implications it's very existence brings and my place within it is a gross understatement. For a start, both fundamental and superficial changes are happening all the time, both to the platform and to me. It is very difficult to keep up.

I've been through bouts of addiction, episodes of love and hate, I've had arguments with my fiancé about much time i'm spending 'off with the fairies.' Suddenly, I find myself balancing a job, my family, crypto, exercise, rest, sustenance and steemit. I've had bouts of anxiety about how and what to post as an almost overwhelming desire to read, connect, comment, curate and create for Steemit built up. The desire to contribute does not necessarily come from the economics, I don't believe it did for me. It came from wanting to find a niche, to establish a reputation, to protect my investment and to start realizing the potential of Steem for everyone, right now. Basically, I was on a burnout trajectory....maybe not today, maybe not next month, but it was in the post. I wonder how many other Steemers have felt the same?

Saved by the Vision

Then I remembered something. The Steem platform was built in order to realize a vision. That vision is to build tools that protect everyone's life, liberty and property. The vision is many many years old now and has taken countless man hours, countless innovations and countless contributions from all over the world. Steem and Steemit are the latest iteration on the journey to realize that vision and I would hope every Steemer knows by now, that Daniel Larimer is one of it's chief architects. Why is that important? It's important to me because I had allowed myself to believe that Steem was the end of the journey and that we were moments away from achieving all those lofty goals. I went from tortoise into hare mode......and we all know what happened to the hare.

Steem is an ocean

Steem and it's potential is as vast as the ocean. How much does one person know about the ocean? It's often said that collectively, we know more about the surface of the moon than the deeps of the ocean. In that context, whale or minnow, we are all small fish. I needed a fresh perspective. One that would enable me to build Steem and it's children into my life permanently but positively. I've written this post to share with you my conclusions and how i'm going to attempt to implement them in the hope that you find them useful. I can be the only one getting themselves into a pickle!

There is a place for all kinds of content on Steemit and you can see that there are many content producers that are very successfully adapting to this new kind of social media platform. I would urge you not to compare yourselves with those who have established networks already, are clearly experts in their fields or have the support of a number of people behind their account or accounts from a producing or curation point of view. There is no need to feel competitive because there is ample space for everyone to post out a niche.....and plenty of time!

What do I want out of Steemit?

  • to connect with people by offering any insight I might have, especially about steemit and blockchains
  • to help define a new kind of online culture based on civility
  • to help bring the intrinsic value of blockchain technology to everyone
  • to use the Steem to do something positive in the real world
  • to learn
  • to have a creative outlet
  • to generate and preserve an alternate source of value

How will I achieve those objectives without burnout?

  • take my time by reducing posting frequency and increasing curation
  • take regular breaks from Steemit
  • keep a note of ideas and weed out the bad ones.....you should see the crap I don't post!
  • be the tortoise and play the long game
  • focus on my strengths, such as they are and try to develop them
  • focus more on adding value to Steemit & Steemers rather than myself
  • focus on a couple of things at a time and build a real world structure of organisation around them, including support from family and friends;

For example. I'm passionate about the SteemClean initiative and would dearly love to see it take off. I realize I need to do more to make that happen and support those who have expressed an interest in the idea. It will take time and effort, something that is in limited supply.....so be it.

I'll continue to do my Steememes and Steem thoughts, if and when they pop into my head.

I'd like to do more creative writing.

Conclusion

I guess there isn't really a conclusion. These are all musings and plans that I hope to implement. They may or may not come to fruition, they may or may not help me to be a more relaxed and happy Steemer. I intend to try though.

Many Steemers will already be lightyears ahead of this and will be far down the road to mobilizing, organizing, building and marketing, getting the absolute most out of Steemit and to help her and the Steem platform grow. This post is really for anyone feeling a touch swamped!

I hope you found something of use. I wish you all the best and happy Steeming!!

Sort:  

Just what I needed to read - a lot of truth in your musings! Thank you!!! Followed & Upvoted

Indeed, I have felt overwhelmed by Steemit.com. Many others have felt that way too as evidenced by numerous posts by steemers to that effect. I'm sure you have seen them too.

Steemit IS overwhelming! This is because of all the 100,000s of man hours put into the project so far; idea people, developers, bloggers, all contributing to Steemit's snowballing momentum. We are experiencing changes of epic proportions. I don't need to tell you how important money is and it's significance in the world, but cryptocurrency and blockchains are revolutionizing our future right now.

With free-flowing cryptocurrency as it's blood, a designable, growing blockchain as it's body and an incentizied new social media as it's soul , you have a triple whammy! Behold the birth of a new kind of intelligent entity destined to reform and animate an entirely new kind of human civilization.

I couldn't agree more :))

@benjojo very nice share I will definitely be looking forward to your future posts, This platform has grown so much and i'm growing with it:) Thanks again for this read!

Image dragged me here. The post kept me here good job!

While I can say that I have a strange feeling to Steemit. It seems like you have described in the introduction. But after reading the whole post, I want to believe in a better future for this platform

That makes me very happy

I like the analogy of steemit being an ocean. whether you are a minnow, dolphin or whale, you are welcome to explore and enjoy.

Somehow associated
"Sometimes things become possible if we want them bad enough" T. S Eliot

Lovely quote.

Funny that you mention the surface of the moon and the ocean, as I'm currently working on an album review (for my music criticism series The Harmonic Series, here on steemit) that is about exploring space and uses the ocean as an extended metaphor. I think there are a lot of themes on the album of forging a new path and discovery that would appeal to the ideals of Steemit.

Anyway, good article. I'm doing my best to stave off burnout, because I can see it coming on as well!

Thank you for the comment. I just had to take a look at your posts and I'm very glad I did.

Glad you enjoy them! I'll be trying my best to put up a new review every day, so if you'd like to keep up, feel free to follow me. Already following you, fyi~

Totally in agreement with your words, I also have happened for these phases, of addiction, love, hatred... Constant Search of a publication, and little by little a " ripeness in steemit " where what matters it is to share what I like without getting obsessed and if there is nothing that to publish is better not to publish anything, relax, to rest and to enjoy your life, steemit is here and it will continue being for when the ideas avenge.

A greeting!

It's really nice to know that there are many of us having similar experiences! Greetings!

Yes, in many occasions I have read post of persons that expressing how were feeling in steemit and I was feeling exactly of the same way, initially everything was enthusiasm and the search of the reward, Later feeling part of something big, steemit 24 hours in the head, the anger of working at something for hours and see that was not be rewarded and immediately afterwards the desires of returning to create anything new ... and finally my current condition in which little by little steemit is taking his place, but without occupying all space.

I think that we all spend the same phases, but I also feel good when other persons feel like me.

You came back from holiday with a great post!)

I do not see @benjojo in the last week, it turns out he was on holiday :D

welcome back :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48