Post-conventional Morality and the need for infinite debate

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

I had a conversation today with somebody which started off about one's enjoyment of food and lead my brain down a rabbit hole, of which I will try to keep short and digestible here.

image.png

Pixabay

The basic conversation was this:

A - I love Food

B - Me too but sometimes I forget to eat

A - What's the point of life without food?

B - I agree but sometimes I get more enjoyment after not eating for a while; absence makes the heart grow fonder and all

A - Outrageously untrue. I love food as a regular thing that I always do. Your analogy only works with the extremely poor and starving

B - How? Have you never had an empty stomach before?

It was at this point, more or less, that I realized that this person, in all likelihood, never suffered a day, never had to go hungry, and likely never tried anything too adventurous, getting lost somewhere, having so much fun you simply forget, getting so nervous or afraid your appetite disappears and so on.

Quite a jump in assumptions I know, but I'm only human. Pretty sure I'm right, too. And that's fine. To be stable and live a predictable, safe life where you never want for anything is an amazing feat the vast majority of the world are desperate to have.

But a point of contention I've always had about this group of 'Conventional' people is just that; they are conventional, and they are entirely unwilling to leave. The mind is set in stone and anything that might seem different is something to consider as a threat or danger, anyone who thinks differently to that is a bad influence, just because that's how things are - this is the convention.

We're all, obviously, guilty of this to varying extents. But the conversation continued and I started talking about my youth and family and those around me all of which grew up with some kind of struggle, many of which having no choice but to go hungry on countless occasions, even after graduating from University, where I myself was living in a tiny box room on the third floor of a house with people I frankly despised in a town I didn't know and had no business being in, as I slowly ran out of money to actually pay for it and no job was coming my way.

In some cases like this, food becomes so amazing that we would steal to acquire it. WE NEED IT.

This opponent in this debate was steadfast. No. Stealing is wrong. End of debate. Under no circumstances is stealing the right thing to do because stealing is illegal, because the law said so and that's that.

Well. I held my tongue and respected this position. As I said, being of that lifestyle and mindset is something we should be grateful for. If everyone in the world lived a life in which they didn't have to face the more dangerous, dark and grey areas of reality, we would be a pretty happy planet indeed.

But I didn't exactly live that life and it's only recently I can say I feel at least somewhat stable, now I'm approaching 32 years of age, and people around me are doing far worse at the same age - and this is common, even in the UK, one of the richest countries on earth.

So for me, the debate is never over. I held my tongue, sure, but my brain started eating away at my... brain, all the way home. My opinion couldn't be more different. When is stealing the right thing to do? Well, at first you must define 'stealing'.

I'm not going to, but I feel one's idea of theft is some Aladdin-esque street rat, fit as a fiddle with a monkey to feed making slick attempts to steal fruit and vegetable from an equally struggling shopkeeper, both only trying to survive, and if they worked together honestly, everything would work out.

But what about reality, what about the multi-billion dollar enterprises raising prices of basic necessities to line the pockets of their billionaire CEO's. Is it wrong to steal a $3 loaf of bread to feed your children? Well, yes, according to the law of course it is. You just have to find another way.

What about an authoritarian government sacrificing its millions of citizens for the sake of its own pride and maintaining its position in power, can its citizens steal from the leaders here?

There are infinite examples that you all might personally have experienced in which the rules of morality start to break down, get a little fuzzy.

I started to wonder why my cultural thought on this was so vastly different from my opponent earlier in the day, and why that person refused to debate it. Why do I enjoy the idea of a discussion on this, yet others feel it a personal attack to be avoided or if online, blocked?

I came across a fairly interesting article on the metro-part of my journey home

It starts off with another realistic example I'll dump here:

'Sylvia is dying from a rare form of cancer. There is one drug the doctors think might save her recently developed by a druggist near her. The drug is expensive to make, about $400 for a small dose, but the druggist is charging ten times what it costs him to make the drug, about $4,000.

Her husband Heinz went to everyone he knew to borrow money to buy this drug for her, but he could only raise about $2,000. He told the druggist his wife was dying and asked him to sell it cheaper, or let him pay for it later, but the druggist said, “No, I discovered the drug and I’m going to make all the money I can right now.” Heinz is desperate, and considering breaking into the man’s store and stealing the drug for his wife. Do you think it is okay for Heinz to steal the drug? How come?'

The article goes on to explain how Lawrence Kohlberg, a social psychologist, investigated the development and evolution of one's moral reasoning - regardless of whatever answers are given on a topic, including this one.

It boils down to three sets of conventional thought; Preconventional, conventional, and postconventional morality.

In short, Preconventional morality is what you might hear a child reason with; Whether you follow or break the rules, you're doing it either for reward or to avoid punishment. Simple.

Conventional morality is what the vast majority of people grow into. We learn from our parents, from our society, from our churches or synagogues, our schools, not to do what is essentially an objective wrong. However, a culture decides on these wrongs is dependent presumably on thousands of years of historical development.

In the same way, a baby born into a Muslim family in a Muslim country has a roughly 100% chance that they will grow up to be Muslim, whereas a baby born in a Christian family and country will almost certainly turn out Christian.

Funny that.

All in all, this is the easy life. The law is the law, wrong is wrong, black is white because I said so and that's what makes sense to me and that feels safe and right. How else can things possibly be?

Of course, if this were actually true, why does... well, why 1,000,000 things I probably don't need to start listing.

Then there is Postconventional morality. Rather than just going around settled on what society believes is collectively the right answer to life's problems, this is a more personal and independent state of morality. What do YOU think is right and wrong, regardless of what the police say, and your teachers, and parents.

Your parents tell you to go to church every Sunday because God says so. Meanwhile, your mind questions 'Why?' 'Is praying all I can really do to help these people? Is charity all I can do, is that the best way to do things?'

A few minutes thinking about it and you find charity is, in some cases, not the right way to do things. Sure, you may be giving money to those who need it, but that money often just evaporates into 3 days' food, leaving the recipients hungry once more. You have then wiped your hands clean of moral responsibility and moved on to the next craze, while people are yet still going hungry. You have done nothing to change their life, you haven't implemented any system to improve agriculture or increase the efficiency of water purification. No, you just tossed some loose change at some people who happen to live locally in the hope that it might make a difference.

Is this the moral thing to do?

Is it moral to simply allow mega-corporations to, as John Oliver pointed out this week, consciously and actively buy out and jack up prices of homes of people who they outright describe as 'hostages'? I mean, it's legal, right? So it must be morally acceptable.

Some of these contradictions in morality are more obvious than others. Some require deep thought, introspection and, yes, debate.

Sometimes, dare I say it, stealing is the right choice to make. In the example of the cancer patient, one may be willing to steal, even if it means a certainty of being caught.

This is Postconventional morality. An internal, independent set of moral values, or, as the article states 'Heinz should steal the drug because the value of human life is more important than the right of property ownership'

It becomes a balancing act; what is more important, following what we've always known, or following what we actually believe to be right? This is said to evolve throughout our lives, and surely depending on how life turns out determines how far or how fast these values change.

We see this explored endlessly in Hollywood movies and beyond, but we never really explore it in our own journeys through life. We often just see it as an interesting plot device, not something to apply to ourselves.

This, to me, is one of the greatest moral crimes.

(Don't vote this steemSTEM, it's not STEMMY, I just wanted to use Steemstem.io)

Sort:  

POOP

Another captivating read from Mobbs. I loved how you put things in perspective as regards the Preconventional, Conventional and Postconventional morality bit.

It's not always about what is written in the rules book. Life, after all, is filled with dynamic conditions and scenarios. Nothing is black and white. I don't like it when people are stuck to static rules, not because they know it's the truth for sure, but because it is a generally accepted axiom. It's a a deterrent to the progressive evolution of the human mind and society.

I think that the more people move past the notion of conventional morality to where values are weighed or prioritized based on their gross contribution to the betterment of human lives and the society, the better the world would be.

Sometimes, dare I say it, stealing is the right choice to make. In the example of the cancer patient, one may be willing to steal, even if it means a certainty of being caught.

I agree.

Your last point is worth thinking about. Rather than a system of hard rules that people must abide by, each case could be a balancing act. Unfortunately, I think this opens a lot of doors to manipulation, corruption, wordplay and a lot of other cracks that would allow a lot of guilty people to go free. We see humans exploit the legal system constantly as it is, no matter how robust.

But more importantly, I think a legal system or any other system of rules that surround us should not be so harsh as to force people to accept without question, but rather serve as guidelines in a thriving society that can independently come to their own conclusions given the risk-reward they see ahead of them. It's all wishful thinking though

Thanks for this nice post, there's a lot to contemplate now. One question would be: Can you develop a postconventional morality without learning conventional morality first? I honestly doubt that...

Btw: I saw the John Oliver piece aswell. Appalling. Sadly, that's how raw capitalism is in practice.

$rewarding 100% 13min

I suspect some people develop in a way that bypasses conventional morality, and we tend to see those people as freaks or socio/psychopaths, or similar. Some people just never manage to follow suit. Perhaps we should give them more credit =D

that's how raw capitalism is in practice.

I'd go further and simply say that's how humans are in practice, given the thinnest sliver of opportunity to do so. Capitalism is but one of an infinite set of windows

Appreciate the thoughtful commentary.

In my eyes, morality is simple in theory but conflicts do arise. It is my belief that, if society would only observe "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you" or Golden Rule, we would have much less strife amongst men.

In the case of the cancer patient, my assertion is the druggist is not abiding by this dictate because of their avarice.

Had this person been a churchgoer, I believe the book of Matthew lays out guidelines for addressing this person's actions.

Matthew 18:15-17 KJV
Moreover if thy brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone: if he shall hear thee, thou hast gained thy brother. [16] But if he will not hear thee, then take with thee one or two more, that in the mouth of two or three witnesses every word may be established. [17] And if he shall neglect to hear them, tell it unto the church: but if he neglect to hear the church, let him be unto thee as an heathen man and a publican.

As you may note, there is an escalation workflow described here. You initially try and appeal to the person privately (something like "Hey dude, my mom is dying. Please work with me.").

If that fails it eventually is brought to the assembly with the potential of removal of fellowship and it's privileges. Guess you can kind of think of it as sanction.

The important thing is there is a process for consensus in the church and think that model is sound. As we don't live in a theocratic society, this sort of discipline is limited in scope. I am sure that issues would likely be resolved before it gets to the assembly level. Doubt anybody wants that scrutiny unless they have a reasonable case.

Not sure how in tune our governments are with valuing human life but I am confident congregations comprised of the invisible church (distinct from the visible church often abound with hypocrites) would side with the man needing the medicine

In a sense, this escalation workflow is in practice. You complain to a person, then to your boss, then to a lawyer and finally a judge, depending on how far it has to be taken. Though I agree with the Bible's sentiment, I feel this is a common sense, or intuitive, process that would likely come about as a result of any decent society. The problem therefore is that not everybody is decent.

Utopias only exist on the assumption that humans aren't... human. And unfortunately, we are - theocratic or not. All we can do is fight the battle.

As for siding with the man needing medicine, well, that's likely because we only hear one side. In that example, what if the guy charging $4,000 is doing so for his own reasons, in which he is desperately trying to make ends meet for the sake of survival, or for the sake of many others' survival?

In that case the outcome changes all over again. It's an interesting conundrum which may never be solved objectiively, which is why I find it interesting that we can have such objective laws. A 'congregation' or a small, anarchistic society/village could rightly work well under the above consensus process, but scale i t up and things start to fall apart.

I'm trying to work simultaneously so I apologise if this is nonsensical rambling

I use to say the laws are made by humans that have plans to break them at some point in the nearest or far future. The world is actually chaotic and human greed (not needs) is insatiable. The government made killing a crime and yet, they recruit armies and nuke people. We want peace in the world but we won't stop producing ammunition. Are we producing ammunitions to kill animals? How do they intend to sell the ammunition if demands are not created somewhere?

I really do not know the essence of governance when some people under such government will have to steal just to have something to put in their mouth. People that steal just because they are genuinely hungry do so for survival, which happens to be the basic instinct of humans. Genuine laws are supposed to be a lot of clauses to take care of such cases. Before convicting someone for stealing, was he genuinely feeling hungry? If so, the government should bear the brunt of the crime.

I had my own fair share of suffering while growing up and I know that capitalism will eventually bring an end to this planet. My country is so rich on paper yet it is rated the poverty capital of the world. The chasm between the rich and poor is so enormous and keeps growing every day. The poor are blamed for being poor and the rich think they are rich because they are smart (not necessarily honest). It is a chaotic world @mobbs

Your words reminded me of an article I read about brain chaos - The Criticality Theory

"The basic premise is that criticality is a tipping point between order and chaos, when these two extremes are tenuously in balance. Think of the transition from ice to water. When the temperature starts changing, nothing happens until you reach a critical temperature, and then the ice starts to melt. Ice is a more organized molecular structure, compared to water; criticality is the in-between of ice and water, when both exist together. Nature shows us that all three phases of water can be present at once - rain in clouds, frozen lakes, the vapor of a hot humid summer day, all inter-depending in the same system containing structure and flexibility, order and disorder."

"The brain needs to be flexible enough to adapt, but structured enough to function. “If you’re in a rigid, very organized system, it’s very difficult to move it from there. If you’re completely disorganized, it’s very difficult to do something simple, because the disorder is too much.”

"A good example - a group of soldiers marching together, that would be high synchrony, a group of kids who play all individually, nothing to do with each other– that would be the chaos. No interaction among the members. Then, imagine a group of teenagers dancing, synchronously, yet they are allowed to have their own unique postures every now and then as well. That would be the criticality.”

To me, this seems to help explain the natural flows of things :)

Very beautifully written. Food for thought indeed. It is so true that people fear to even question the construct when faced with truths that they are conditioned with. They rather just follow the sheep's within the realms of their comfort zone. Indifference can be blasphemy to them. Mass indoctrination and centralized programing makes them the workforce to turn the cogwheels in the system.

I once experienced living in a small place close to some of the biggest slums in Asia. Growing up in Switzerland, I failed to understand various forms of attention and mindfulness. I was still young. I began to realize why some of these people might be underprivileged. Kids came to my place and i never just cooked for myself. I ran out of food pretty quickly and mostly out of flour. Their moms fed me. Everyone’s mom’s knew they were at my place. One kid would bring flour without me even opening my mouth because we saw that i had little left. Of course they came from good families, but they weren’t wealthy monetarily. They were so much richer. If you are a person that likes to give, it doesn’t mean that you expect anything in return. The greatest gift can be the joy that it’s recognized. I do know the feeling when you are hungry but there is another kind of food around. I feel that one can share values but the most valuable asset we can spend is time. When one shares moral values, they go beyond...I think i had the best times of my life when i was dead broke. Like now. 😂 when you live in a place where everyone has everything, many of them tend to be unhappy. Is it because they take things for granted?

Loading...

Congratulations @mobbs! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Ryokan, a Zen master, lived the simplest kind of life in a little hut at the foot of a mountain. One evening a thief visited the hut only to discover there was nothing in it to steal.

Ryokan returned and caught him. “You may have come a long way to visit me,” he told the prowler, “and you should not return emptyhanded. Please take my clothes as a gift.”

The thief was bewildered. He took the clothes and slunk away.

Ryokan sat naked, watching the moon. “Poor fellow,” he mused, “I wish I could give him this beautiful moon.”

https://gist.github.com/dustin/798227

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28