You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #17 - Auricularia auricula - The Jelly Ear Mushroom

in #steemstem7 years ago

Yeah! This is the one we used to eat, and also boil with pork to serve as soup!!!
Opus..... I am always hungry at night😂😂

Sort:  

I have sworn to make no statements regarding edibility anymore - but i can say they are nearly global in their dispersion, and with a relatively small amount of genetic diversity apparently... which I am dubious of - if i find more info regarding taxonomic diversity and lookalikes ill update the post with it.

Haha yes i do saw your warning. But your description is just so match what we used to eat, and we called them “wood ear” in cantonese
But when i go in to your the wiki source --- Auricularia auricula-judae, the chinese version gives exactly what we used to eat XDD
Anyway i am not going to pick them from the wild XDD

They are also known as "wood ears" ;).

Actually, this is sort of apropos - I think this would be a great post to put onto #cn or #hk - except it needs to be translated. I am trying to find someone to collaborate with to translate my science posts and repost them exclusively to either cn and/or hk.

I think there would be a significant value in doing that - and then me and the translator could share the payout from the Chinese version - with the translator taking the bulk of the payout.

I really enjoy your mushroom articles and you are definitely not just amateur for sure😂
And yes, i think post like this is definitely worth to have a Chinese translation and share these fun around.
But i am currently running out of time as the semester is going to begin soon, so i am afraided that i could not help at the moment.

Don't be fooled! This information is all readily available online - or in hard copy books i use from time to time - hence the sources I cite to - the experts in this field work in microscopy and genetics - and they get into far more nitty gritty than I do, believe me. I completely earn the title "amateur".

haha, but I rarely dig to these particular stuff! Those who work on genetics should have a different point of view. At least i really enjoy the fun from what you selected from the "ocean" XDD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78