You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Parque Oncol - Entoloma necopinatum and/or/possibly neonecopinatum - The 'Unexpected' Entoloma.

in #steemstem6 years ago

Awesome and professional post! :) Thoroughly enjoyed.
However; I would leave all that mycelium next time.
People will say that it doesn't matter for certain species.
That is bullshiz. Always cut: Never pluck. Especially rare ones.

Sort:  

Thanks!

Regarding harvesting methodologies, I didn't do any of the physically collecting for this species - and I definitely trust the people who did - Guliana in this case. I think in order to have fairly complete samples to dry and observe later she took some of the mycelium along with them.

I imagine it is a constant dilemma for conservationists in general - you want to understand a thing more fully, and so you need to take some back to examine and save of posterity - but you also want them not to be wiped out, and so they have to be preserved in the wild.

I can only assume that if Giuliana was picking them in this way, given that she made the application to have them added to the red list, then the calculus militated in favor of doing so.

But it wasn't something we discussed at the time, so I can't say for certain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06