You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sex Drive in Action

in #steemstem5 years ago

anti-Kantian in their masturbations

This is the first time I hear that Kant had something to say about masturbation! :D

In a sample of several hundred respondents, far more gay White men (43%) than White lesbians (0%) reported having had over 500 sex partners.

At first, I thought I misread it or something. 500? Waaaay beyond my expectations! LOL

A wonderful post again, Mr. Alexis! I wonder why did you use the "feminism" tag?

Sort:  

Thanks))

Oh yeah, Kant was against anything that used people as a means to an end, and he considered masturbation as an instance where the person is using his own self as a means to get pleasure.

People often caricature him (myself included), but I believe there's something deep and meaningful in what he was saying, especially as applied to other forms of 'using oneself as means to an end', e.g. when a woman treats herself as an object, e.g. commercializes herself, makes herself and her body into a brand, in order to capitalize on it.

I use the fem tag cos I think what I write about in the sex differences posts almost always relates to something feminists talk about. It's actually one of the main reasons I was interested in sex differences, in order to gain a thorough scientific understanding of sex differences which will ground my feminism (and my much deeper study of it in the future) in reality.

Thanks for enlightening me about this Kantian view. It is an idea that is worth thinking through. It is a very interesting research you are making here and I can't wait for the next part to come :) Take care, Alexander!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97