You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #24 - Grifola frondosa - The Hen Of The Woods/The Maitake.

in #steemstem7 years ago

Wow! I deserve that note.
I can be a real pain in the ass sometimes. I wasn't trying to criticize your article. That was not my intention, my apologies if it came across like that.
With respect to G. frondosa, I've seen some people picking Bondarzewia berkeleyi thinking it was the Hen of the Woods, although they don't look much alike to me.
I've also heard of a rare lookalike called Polyporus umbellatus, but I've never found it in southern Ontario.

Sort:  

Also, I’ve heard of people mistaking g.frondosa for Berkeley’s polypore, and vice versa. However I just didn’t really see enough of a resemblance to include it. That’s a bit shortsighted of me though, as I have seen some really facially ridiculous misidentifications before... :/

You're not a pain in the ass at all! Haphazard also made totally legitimate points that the article left out - and its all too easy to demonize fungi in general without a self professed mushroom lover joining in the action.

I think, whether intended as criticism or not, it is a criticism that can totally, and rightfully should, be applied to the last post and warrants another post for clarity on the flip side of the coin.

Your input, and the input of several other key readers, is really important to me and much appreciated!

I can't wait to see your take on the benefits of mushroom in the environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98