Sort:  

Thanks, Erica. We are fine. He is growing and being able to communicate better and better. He understands around 20 words or more now and is very very curious :) I hope you and your family are fine, too. You have an eight grader or in other words - a teenager now :)

People who come to me for a consultation often bring a suitcase full of feelings with them. These are scattered throughout the room, so to speak. And they, of course, do reach me.

This is such a beautiful metaphor. When I read it, an image emerged in my mind of your client and you, sitting in a room and all the emotions flying around, scattered by the wind.

I wasn't aware of the possibility a transfer/ counter-transfer to be a physical one. Never thought about that. But it makes sense as our emotions always have a physical representation.

I remember how my nervousness and enthusiasm transferred towards the children I was working with when a team came to film how we reflect upon the school year. Suddenly they started wandering around the room, jumping, running, talking fast ... just like me :D I had to take a deep breath and calm myself down. This was the only way I could calm them down.

Btw, you can see the video and the wonderful children I was working with here :D

Cheers!

Is that you in the video?
Lovely and smart children & really interested in the whole procedure as it seems.
Was that an experiment or pilot or is it a solid institution to work that way at this particular school?

That is an interesting approach you take in supporting the students for being more independent in dealing with their strengths and weaknesses.

This requires a skilled teacher on self knowledge on the teachers side.
Thank you for giving this example of calming yourself down. I can confirm that very much. When I feel restless and nervous through a session because the nervousness of a client affects me it is of no use to "command" the client to become more relaxed. It helps way more to become calm myself.

I am fine, too. My son has reached puberty and patience is what I have to remind myself of when I feel aggravated with him. As everything this shall pass and meanwhile I want to give as much independence but at the same time guidance towards him.

Yes, this is me in the video. I was part of Teach for Bulgaria program working with underperforming schools for better education. Teach for Bulgaria is an NGO, part of Teach for All network. There is also a German organization working in Germany for better education.

it is of no use to "command" the client to become more relaxed.

Ahahah. I have tried it. You are right. It doesn't work :D

I am glad you and your family are fine.

patience is what I have to remind myself of when I feel aggravated with him.As everything this shall pass and meanwhile I want to give as much independence but at the same time guidance towards him.

Family relationships are always an inner journey offering something new in every turn, aren't they :D Always an adventure :) I am quite sure he will turn into a wonderful young man in a couple of years :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65749.81
ETH 2665.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86