You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Research In Preparation Of Attempting To Grow 100 Pounds of Potatoes In A 4x4 Box

in #steemstem5 years ago

I think that 100 pound is a little exaggerated too. In my family we've been planting potatoes for ages (I'm 32 and my family planted them even before). We usually plant them in April and harvest them in August - depending on the season and the rain of course. I have never planted a potato in a box so I found your post very interesting. I would actually never even consider that but since I don't live at home anymore and I don't have a garden/field I've been looking for some solution and this sounds reasonable to me. It will of course not compare to the harvest that I'm used to but it would be fun to do :)

Oh, and I didn't know that potatoes were close to tomatoes!

Thank you for sharing all this interesting information and good luck with planting!

Congratulations on your curie vote!

Sort:  

Thank you! {:o)

In your experience, if I am starting with 8 seed potatoes, about how many pounds of potatoes should I end up with?

I really depends on many factors. We have large fields so we tend to grow potatoes each year somewhere else so that the soil can get its nutrients back and 'feed' the potatoes again. I assume that you have good soil so if you water them properly you can get even around 25-30 middle sized potatoes from one potatoe. I would say you could get around 8 pounds from each so maybe around 64 pounds from 8 would be realistic. Maybe even more..

Let me know how it goes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.94
ETH 2699.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86