You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rise of the Feral Pigeons: Introduction to Leslie Matrices

in #steemstem7 years ago

This is super interesting and very explained @masterwu and not a super maths-y person. My only question is, at some point population growth will stall because of environmental factors (not enough food to support them all comes to mind). I'm wondering how that fits into this? Or do you capture this in your next post?

Sort:  

Was going to post this question myself. I guess there would be an increase in predators as well.

Hey @choogirl! Thanks for your comment. It's great to have you stop by. You're right, the population growth will stall due to the factors you've mentioned, but that's one of the limitations of this model because at this level it doesn't take these factors into account. We would need a more sophisticated model.

However, I'm guessing the sheer number of pigeons will become problematic before we get to levels where their growth naturally stalls. So my next post will be about controlling population through (sadly) culling. I guess that's an environmental problem we've created for ourselves by providing them with such an abundant environment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86