You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nice paper: Don’t trust the mitochondrial spare capacity!?!

in #steemstem5 years ago

I feel as though I'm peeking over your shoulder in the laboratory, when I read this, especially when I get to see "Chapper's platelets in a seahorse." Interesting, following your thought process as you weigh pros and cons of this 'argument'.

When you need a lot of things to stay alive, why should this be good?

Hope you keep us up-to-date as your work evolves. I'm learning a lot about mitochondria :)

(Resteem)

Sort:  

No wonder why mitochondria are defined as 'power plants'. They even have their very own tag on Steemit! 😃 All of a sudden I became more interested in them 😆

I will put some more Infos on the blockchain within a few weeks! I think it's important to share this knowledge.
Thanks for your interest!
Best
Chapper

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @agmoore,

I do my best. And as long I haven't understood how mitochondria really work prevent:

  • alcohol
  • tobacco
  • drugs
  • antibiotics
  • pollution
  • stress
  • anger
  • bad food
  • everything that is bad

Best

Chapper

everything that is bad

😄 That sounds apocalyptic!

What I need to know is, can we undo the past? At this point in my life, I think my mitochondria are beyond redemption.😁

Laughter! Reading this list, my first thought is: traveling back in time where no consumption goods, civil illnesses and bad food existed. Probably I would have to go back to hunter gatherer nomads. Where substitutes for the above list would be:

  • greater health while life was lasting short as it seems, but hey, why not;-)
  • danger from predators
  • greater occurrences of being bitten and stung by insects, snakes and resulting infections
  • walking all distances by foot
  • little shelter in the eyes of weather conditions
  • little knowledge of what was going on outside the tribe

As much as avoidance of the listed things I agree with, for the most part its hardly possible.

LOL: "everything that is bad". I must agree though I said it otherwise.

At least you can try to avoid some of the worst things such as Smoking, junk-food and stress. Then proceed with other things such as Sports or mind-set. At the end you will be surprised how easy it actually is.
I will make a Video and more Posts concerning these aspects within the next weeks and months.
To live healthy is much easier than living unhealthy!
Chapper

Posted using Partiko Android

I was kidding about my answer. In fact, I am a great supporter of all the things you have enumerated to avoid. But the list seems pretty unfulfillable the first time I read it, so I made a joke.

👍got it! Making jokes is probably also good for your mitochondrial health 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90