My Skate and Create Video Project Pt. 3: Skating and Filming

in #steemskate6 years ago

Hello again Steemit! I'm back from my mini-Steem-hiatus of filming, skating, and oversleeping at last, to bring you an update on our progress. If you want to learn more about what this project is, why I'm doing it, and what I've done, you can read my previous blog posts here and here. If you're too lazy to do that, then I'll fill you in real quick: I've been working on a skateboarding video featuring my new friend Wu that focuses on colored lights and optical illusions. We just spent the weekend filming it at The Evergreen State College.

I love spending time in this studio space - even without the fancy (large-format) cameras in it! I had three days with a Sony HXR camera, a Canon Rebel T6i camera, my set, and miscellaneous lights and props. 

Big shout out to Daniel, who helped me check out an extra light kit and camera from the school + helped me film, I couldn't have done this without him. 

Also, my mutual friend that I mentioned in my last post who was coming to skate with me, Wu, is one of the most talented and consistent skateboarders I've ever kicked it with. Due to this, I won't be featured in the video with him. I'm not worthy - you'll see what I mean.

I only had Wu in the studio for 3 and a half hours, but we did everything we could. I'm really happy with how a lot of it turned out, although as you could imagine, there is so much more potential in this video than we could pound out in that amount of time.

We had a great time though! At one point, we combined my set pieces to make a wallride:

Seems dangerous, right? Yeah, I know. There were sandbags in it though, and no one got hurt, so it's all good :)

I'll leave you all with some GIFs to tide you over until I'm done with the actual video:

Thanks for stopping by, friends! <3 Stay tuned for the full video, it will probably be done in a week or so.

Sort:  

Wow dude thats awesome.Can't wait for the full video.
Your friend seems like he know what he is doing on the skateboard.He seems so good from the GIFS.
#SKATEFORLIFE

Yeah, he's pretty crazy on a board! Thanks for stopping by homie :)

So sick man! I am very excited to see the finished piece! =)
Had to resteem as this is so f ing awesome!

Thanks so much my dude! :) Your support is truly appreciated

@k0wsk1 You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Awesome!

It seems like you had access to more equipment than I've had in 15 years of microbudget filmmaking, haha!

Then again, I have always been more interested in content than in form, in storytelling than in trying to impress others, in creativity over technical stuff.

Nevertheless, what you are - and have been doing here - seems pretty awesome. I'm looking forward to the final video.

C ya!

Vincent

Thanks so much Vincent! Yeah, Evergreen has been kind to me and my peers thus far :) Your support means a lot, keep it real!

You're welcome! ✨

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Are you serious, man? Fuck off with the slander, I'm tired of seeing you on everyones posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17