Welshies coin of the day....

IMG_20181014_121151.jpg

Now I'm not struggling for things to write, but for the next few Sundays I'll be going in to a bit more detail on the individual coins in my collection. Now although most of my coins are common I suggest you pay close attention and take a good look at this coin as it might be making an appearance sometime later on today.

IMG_20181014_121135.jpg

So you should all recognise the Canadian Maple, this being the 2017 version.

The 1oz maple is actually one of the few common bullion coins that is stamped with 9999 pure silver (4 X 9's) as the majority are usually just 999fs. With a diameter of 38mm and a thickness of 3.29mm.

TRIVIA: The silver maple is only available to buy as a 1oz version, whereas the gold version is available in 1oz and 4 fractional weights.

fetchimage (1).jpeg
fetchimage.jpeg

The 1oz silver maple has a face value of $5CAD. The obverse has a portrait of the lizard queen, Liz II.

The Royal Canadian mint (RCM) was founded in 1908 and still operates out of its original headquarters in ottowa.

So like u said, keep an eye out for this coin as IT WILL be popping up sometime later today.

image.png
2I.jpg

Sort:  

I see the Queen is Ready for the Reset with 5 Dollar Silver Coins...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I can't wait for this later popup. :=)

I do like the Maple's, 999!

Posted using Partiko Android

And...SMLs are only minted from Ag mined in Canada. 😜👉🇨🇦😍

download.jpeg

Nice writeup welshie!

Silver Maples are beautiful coins. I'm planning on getting a few more for myself. Thanks for the trivia. I didn't know some of that stuff.

The coin looks good. I am new in the real coin world. What does the face value mean? Just saw an offer (of a limited number that are scuffed) for just £16.99. What do you pay for, the real silver material price or the special price of that particular coin?

I pay about £13.75 per coin, because I buy in bulk (40+ at a time). The price of silver is around £11.20 per oz at the moment and each coin has 1oz of silver in it.

Thank you@welshstacker. If you buy in bulks, may I ask, where do you keep all your coins? Not at the bank?

Randomly scattered all over the house... All the good stuff is locked away on a safe (hidden obviously), but I usually have 40+oz laying around all over the place. It drives the wife crazy!!

Thanks. Everybody has to find its personal solution for it, I guess.
Forgive me my curiosity.

Not at all. Hope I helped. If you have an interest in coins and other precious metals just follow the tag #steemsilvergold

Thanks, I will. As I said before I am new here in the silver business, but as I do write in Esperanto I came across a special silver coin you might like to see: https://steemit.com/esperanto/@johano/new-esperanto-silver-coin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71