So where can you spend a silver coin....? Part 9.

So I still hope you're enjoying this little #silverexperiment as much as I am. It was never meant to go on this long and has actually gone on to prove the total opposite of what I set out to achieve.

As a "stacker" I strongly believe that precious metals are among the only commodity that can truly be classed as money. So when this idea popped into my head, I honestly thought I'd have no problems exchanging my £2 (face value) silver Britannia for goods and services..... Well it turns out that the majority of everyday folks have no idea what a silver coin even looks like, let alone its true worth above face value.

Let's see if a cornerstone of British society, a fish & chip shop, can finally end this experiment.

IMG_20180223_131733.jpg

So at lunch time today I went to my local "chippy" for a bag of chips.

Let's clear a few things up for you Yanks:

chips are chunks of potatoes deep fried in oil/fat.
Crisps are thinly sliced potatoes oven-baked with oil.
Fries are thin cuts of potatoes fried in oil/fat.

When I say chips I don't mean crisps. 😂hahaha So I'm glad we cleared that up, if you're going to use the English language please get it right.

I digress, back to the story. I really fancied a bag of chips for dinner so I thought why not kill 2 birds with 1 stone and make a blog whilst doing the one thing I love as much as steemit... Eating!!

IMG_20180223_131758.jpg

I've become quite adept at taking secret photos on my phone, that's not because I'm embarrassed of what I'm doing but because most people don't want there photos taken and some business might object to being photographed.

So after standing in the queue I make it to the front and order my chips. A small bag of chips comes in at £1.80, great just under my £2 limit.

IMG_20180223_131936.jpg

So what do we think? Did my local chip shop take my £2 Britannia as payment for some Deep fried potatoes?

C'mon..... You said?

IMG_20180223_132700.jpg

Not even close. The women working in the shop wasn't too impressed at all. She thought I was trying to be funny!! I don't think she'd had the best of days.... I offered it to her again saying that it's a £2 coin made by the royal mint but she was having none of it. So I paid for my chips and left the shop to go enjoy my bounty in the comfort of my car.

And yes I did eat them all... And very nice they were too.

IMG_20180223_133928.jpg

OK so where next? All suggestions welcome, time is running out to spend it before I give it to my local charity shop at the end of March.

IMG_20180223_204826.jpg

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Well such valuables should be spent where they are more recognised... Have you tried an aesthetic shop? You can get some aesthetic valuables in exchange for it. I'm certain this may work.

Wow she missed out there! Nice looking chip 💯🐒

Oh shit I'm confused now! So are kettle chips, not crisps, actually fries??!

That’s crazy that she wouldn’t take it. My god people really do love with their heads in the sand....nice post

We live in a world where you cant buy a bag a chips with a 1oz solid silver coin! But it looks like we live in a world that stll makes good chips, im hungry just looking at them. I wonder if you could buy stamps at a post office with a silver Britannia?

Mmm delicious... Chips, crisps, fries, whatever they're called I think we can all agree fried potato products are quite tasty! 🤣

One of these days someone will take you up on your offer hahaha

Fantastic meal and really wish I was working behind the counter when someone came in wanting to spend real wealth! My only suggestion would be a coins shop lol . They would totally allow you to buy with that lol. Thanks for sharing!!

That is a funny story. I heard one similar. A man went to a Seven-Eleven and looking at the register found an ASE among the dollars. He gave a $1 bill in exchange for the ASE and the cashier accepted because she thought that the coin was a fake...

Hard to believe that they wouldn't have snatched that ounce up! Maybe a local pub? Will it buy a pint?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25