2016 China 30 gram Silver Panda - The Passing of One of Our Own

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, Steemians.

Today's silver showing comes with a somber tone. I want to tell the story of how I came to be in possession of this 2016 China 30 gram Silver Panda. Now, if you don't want to hear a sad story, I suggest you click somewhere else, but it's a true story, and this is a piece in my stack, so the story deserves to be told.

IMG_3210.JPG

There was a lady who had a YouTube channel who went by SilverRidin Cowgirl. She was a fairly new YouTuber in the precious metals/stacking community. She had recently reached 100 subscribers, and so a few friends (SilverHairedGamma and ManInBlack) decided to hold a giveaway contest for her to get her even more subscribers. Since I was a subscriber of SilverHairedGamma, I said "sure thing."

IMG_3211.JPG

The rules were simple. Contestants needed to make a shout out video speaking about the giveaway contest. I made a video, which I will link down below. There ended up only being eight contestants.

IMG_3206.JPG

SilverHairedGamma facilitated the drawing, and I ended up winning. I was super excited, because I had just won my first Chinese Panda.

IMG_3207.JPG

Only a month or so had gone by, and then we all heard the terrible news. Mr. Zeke put out a video in which he let us all know that SilverRidin Cowgirl's aunt had contacted him to let him know that she hadn't made it through a complicated surgery she recently had. The terrible news is that she had passed away. I will post that video below as well. I was so happy to win this Chinese Panda only to feel so sad about a month later. I told myself that I would always keep the coin to honor her memory.

IMG_3208.JPG

It's been said that SilverRidin Cowgirl considered the stackers on YouTube to be among her friends. It was also said that she had a very sweet heart and was a very caring person. I'm making this post to let you all know about the story of how I came to have this coin that I hold dearly now. Like I said, I plan to always keep this coin in my stack to remind myself of the great people that make up the precious metals stackers on YouTube. We really are a great bunch of people.

IMG_3209.JPG

I will leave it at that. If anyone would like, feel free to share anything about SilverRidin Cowgirl. I would like this post to honor her memory and remind us all that life is precious. We are here now, but may not be at any time.

SilverHairedGamma's Video Announcing SilverRidin Cowgirl's Giveaway Contest

Mr. Zeke's Farewell Video in Honor of SilverRidin Cowgirl

My Entry to SilverRidin Cowgirl's Contest

DQmZr15ypNrceRJ7qxzHY3zkz9GkDYoGvgNhieh79HT8ZDu_1680x8400 (1).png

Rest In Peace, dear SilverRidin Cowgirl

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

Yeah i rem her how can i forget...she had alove for horses and poured silver after she had a stroke was unable to ride.and fought hard just to recover. think thats what drew here to silver and youtube and bless her and her family. she's gone but not forgotten and is amazing how people you don't know touch you in someway. she did this in our many converstaions about coins and other stuff and i'd like to think she'd be pleased you still have the panda

Thank you, that's very nice of you to say. I'm glad you could share this!

I remember also i think was her daughter did a final video before she removed the account and was very touching.

Yes I remember her from YouTube. Sad. Thanks for the share and enjoy your special panda

I remember her too. A few people have died in the stacking and detecting community on youtude.. Always sad to hear of someone's death.
I had some good times on youtube

Sad story! But a wonderful looking coin.

thanks for sharing man, The community on YouTube really is amazing, it's fun how alot of those guys have become really good friends though it.

Great post and really nice coin. I did a post on them yesterday i think. Thanks for sharing. I love Panda's and i hope you hold it,

I have some coins that have sentimental value also,Gifts mostly but I like that you rember this nice person by holding it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85