Coin Search of the Day 9-23-18

As many of the people around SteemSilverGold know, the only thing better than cheap coins are free coins. Inspired by some of the rest of you who have been checking the CoinStar machines for left coins, I checked the one at the local grocery store. I went in to get groceries anyways, so the trip was free.

I checked the return coin slot and there wasn't anything in it, but I did find this on the machine next to it.

image.png

image.png

It's only a 2006 New Zealand 20 Cent piece, but I'm glad to have gotten it. I live in the USA, so this coin must have had a unique and interesting journey to get all the way from New Zealand to my local town. Even though it doesn't have precious metal content or numismatic value, it's still fun to find something from that far away... and to get it for free.

Have you gotten anything free recently?



Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

yeah I got a free vacation this week when steemit was going through it's turmoil. I never heard of checking the coin star machine, why would there be something there?

I hope you enjoyed your vacation!

If a coin isn't recognized by the machine, it is rejected in the slot below. If someone isn't paying attention, they may leave it. If they leave it, it's free for anyone to take.

oh ok, is the rejected coin visible or do you have to feel for it? and have people actually found valuable coins in this way?

You should be able to see it just by looking. You don't have Coinstar machines? Yeah, people get real silver coins from them.

yes sir Blondie we have those machines everywhere so I'll look at them next time whenever I see them, you never know right?

Go for it! That would be cool if you could get some. That's an acquisition that you don't have to run by your wife because it's free and takes up almost no room. :)

sir Blondie! I will tell her about it. The problem is I never go anywhere, she does all the running around. lol. I'm lucky to make it to town once a week but it's true that those machines are everywhere.
oh! and congratulations for getting back into the top ten of the Engagement League! lol. was that a surprise?
I was shocked because with my limited amount of commenting and voting power I figured the larger accounts would take it and I was just hoping to make it into the top 5!

I got my first ever coin from a coin star last week and it was a Canadian penny

Heh, nice! You have to start somewhere. :)

It's one that I haven't seen before and it was free, so even if it's not worth something, I'm still pretty excited about it!

There are no CoinStar machines in Brazil...

I'm sorry, man. You'll have to collect coins the old-fashioned way, by getting money and then going to the local store to buy them.

Man discord won't let us be friends? I wasnt even following u which is my bad..u got an email?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98