1855 French 10 Centimes KM# 771.4

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)
This coin features Napoléon III, the nephew of the famous Napoléon Bonaparte of France. Born as Charles-Louis Napoleon Bonaparte and known later in life simply as Louis Napoleon, he was elected as President of France in 1848 by a large margin. The French Constitution prevented him from running for a second term of office, so he organized a "coup d'état" before the end of his term, by which he was installed as Emperor of a new French Empire. When he took the throne, he used the royal name Napoléon III, as the ordinal "II" had previously gone to a cousin.

1855DixCentimesST1.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

The obverse of this coin features a portrait of His Imperial Majesty Napoléon III with his name and title "NAPOLEON III EMPEREUR" above (sans diacritical mark) and the mint date (1885) beneath. Flanking the date are two privy marks, an anchor to the left and a rampant lion to the right. The privy marks change according to the location of the mint and the date. In very small letters beneath the portrait is "BARRE" for the engraver Jean-Jacques Barre.

1855DixCentimesST3.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

The reverse (back) of the coin features a fearsome eagle, perched, with arrows beneath. Around the eagle is blazoned "EMPIRE FRANCAIS" (sans diacritical mark) and the denomination of the coin "DIX CENTIMES" (dix = 10, in French, and a centime is 1/100th of a franc). Beneath the eagle is the mint mark, which is "D" for the city of Lyon. Other possible mint markings on similar coins would include Paris (A), Rouen (B), Strasbourg (BB), Essai (E), Bordeaux (K), Marseilles (MA), and Lille (W). I have no idea how those letters relate to the cities listed.

1855DixCentimesST2.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

All websites I found relating to this coin describe it as being made of bronze, which is an alloy of copper and tin, often used in statues. Most copper-based coins are brass (at least in the US) which is a copper-zinc alloy.

Values provided by CoinQuest.com:

  • worn: $5 US dollars catalog value
  • average circulated: $12  [my coin probably fits this category]
  • well preserved: $25
  • fully uncirculated: $100

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 CoinSite.com: 1855 French 10 Centimes
   2 CoinQuest.com: France, 1–10 Centimes, 1852–1865
   3 Numista: 10 Centimes - Napoleon III
   4 Wikipedia: Napoleon III

TKG-PinkFooter.png

a big hug to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Impressive piece of history that you have there in such an old coin! I often wonder about my old violins, and what sort of things that they have been through....

You remind me of my uncle he has a very ancient coin and one man offered him 10,000$ but he denied to sell it, i think coins has a great value for the collectors. Thanks for sharing and have a nice day

10,000$ for one coin...? Wow! 😮

You are becoming quite the coin collector aren't you? These have been some really nice coins you are sharing and the photos have been excellent as well as the text. Bravo.

Some of these are new to me (like this one), but some of them (like the Buffalo Nickels) are ones I've had for years but never thought of posting. I have quite a few foreign coins, too, that I got as a child that I need to photograph and post, too. Glad you are enjoying them! 😊

I have two bags of foreign coins I bought from an online auction from the local Harris County Transportation Authority. Each bag weighed about twenty pounds. I think I gave around $35 for the pair.
It was money that had been thrown into the fare boxes on the buses and the Trans Authority couldn't deposit them in their bank so they just let them build up and then auction them off.
I was able to get enough Canadian and Mexican money out of them and get it exchanged to pay for the puchase and still have a whole bunch of other money from all around the world in those bags. Only a couple pieces were solid silver but the one dated back to the 1680's if I remember right, I need to dig that one out and look at it to be sure.
A lot of the coins are no longer in circulation because of the Euro so I never even looked at trying to cash any of those in, too out dated. I have some that I couldn't even figure out what country they were from.
Maybe one day I will do a Daily Dose on those old money bags. I have had them for over ten years myself and no telling how long they sat while building up enough to sell at the county transit authority.

Oh, yes, that would make a great Daily Dose article! You could always sell some of the coins on eBay, if you wanted to get rid of some of them and make a small profit, too (since you already got your money back on the purchase). I have coins from Nepal and China with no Western lettering or numerals, so I can understand what you mean! For those coins you cannot identify, make a snapshot of them and I can see if I can figure out the country, or maybe someone else on Steemit/Discord could help identify it. 🙂

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?


WOW, an 1855 coin... I wonder where that coin has been, and what it has seen! It is a joy to be coin collecting! It is a very interesting hobby. Have a great week to come, my friend. Take care.

Very interesting. So Napoleon's nephew had a Napoleon complex. Must have run in the family. :-)

Old coins are always so interestingly made. I never collected coins, but in childhood I had such a desire))

@thekittygirl,

Very interesting. I loved the history briefing.

Quill

I love old coins and artefacts. I have a friend who goes hunting for things like this with his metal detector! He has found a couple of amazing items in the past too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06