The Power of Consecutives - Silver Ingots

There are so many different factors that all play into the hobby of collecting silver ingots. One of the strongest forces amongst collectors is 'consecutive serial numbers.'

In my early days of collecting. I recall not truly understanding why this is such a big deal. I want to enlighten others why it IS A BIG DEAL.

Most of the collectable material was manufactured in the 1950s through the late 1980s. There are two ways sequential serial number sets are put together. One is when a collector is able to piece together the set though buying over a significant amount of time. Imagine you own Engelhard P100765 and one day your looking on eBay and you see P100766. That happens a lot more than people realize. Now that two bar consecutive set it worth more then each bar individually. The second way to own a sequential set is actually finding a set that was purchased right over the counter at the manufacturing facility 50 years ago. There are some people out there that have family who purchased these bar's in origional production order. At some point someone in that family sees an oppurtunity to sell. That is rare but it happens...

I want to show you the power of a consecutive set that was purchased out of Australia. These bar's are early generation Perth Mint. All are 10oz class and in amazing condition. I purchased them from a collector local to the United States.
image
image
image

Currently, this Perth Mint 7 bar sequential set is the longest known run. I would imagine these have been held together since production. That is NOT confirmed but it would almost be impossible to piece together a set this large.

Witnessing a set this large in sequence puts things into a different perspective. It made me appreciate how unique something like this really is. I would say anything 3 sequential and over is a major accomplishment. With production dates over 50 years. It is truly amazing to see bar's reunited after decades of being apart.

image

I purchased this Engelhard 32.150oz 3 bar set out of Canada. Another set that changed my perspective on the importance of sequential sets amongst collectors. It's amazing to see how similar bar's are when they are produced right after eachother. On the other hand sometimes you see the exact opposite. Just fantastic stuff!!

I hope this changed some perspectives and shed some light on the vintage collectable silver market. If you enjoyed this article please RESTEEM UPVOTE and FOLLOW!

Follow me on Instagram: collectbulliondotcom

image
image

Sort:  

plus, if you have OCD like I do, it's just really satisfying to see consecutive anything...

Wow those are some nice bars @silveringots! I agree that it is really cool to see a consecutive set years after production. I think you need to get the people checking on the records to verify how awesome this set is. Haha!

Lol. Thanks for the kind words @knowledge-seeker!!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I think I see the point of completing the set and not just for the money (although it is very lucrative).

Your passion for silver bars is amazing man. It's kind of inspiring. I think there is no one as passionate about this as you here on this platform.

I certainly take it very seriously. I hope to bring some of the collector community here eventually. Once they learn how to make a user name and use a key board to type. 😅.

Lol I am just messing around. The ssg community here has a little bit of everything. I felt the need to step up on this niche market here. Can only make use stronger right?

This is great to document valuable information that can be discovered on a Google search. Steemit articles result at the top of google searches.

I think our silver and gold communities are coming along really nicely. Unlike other places I see more realistic people here in the space.

The folks here are interested in getting the 'goods' and dropping the 'talk'. Meaning that they'd rather do it than talk about it. This rubs of on other people who come here. Take my example: Since I have joined steemit I have developed an interest in bullion. In fact I have acquired some of it. Although they are just four measly coins but for a guy who has trouble paying his rent, trust me it is a very big deal.

I hope to build a neat little stack of my own and I am willing to do something about it (not just talk). Maybe not all of it but definitely a big credit to Steemit for that and by Steemit, I mean you guys - the community here :-)

I hadn't really thought about how bars could be worth more when they're in sequence. I'll have to look for that now. Does that mean you're the owner of the longest sequence? I feel like you should get a prize for that! :)

Oh for sure. Sequential silver sets always carry a premium. This is considered to be the longest known sequence for Perth Mint ingots. Yes, I own it. Wish there was some kind of prize.😅

Good to know. I've mostly done coins that haven't been numbered, but I got my first bar the other day. Don't tell anyone as I haven't done a post on it yet and I want it to be a surprise. Anyhow, it had a number on it, so now I'll have to look for its friends.

From what I'm reading I'm gathering that you are a well-established stacker. Did I read that correctly?

Great to hear about your new buy. I look forward to seeing it. I have collecting for about 7 years. Not nearly as long as the seasoned vets. My stacking mainly consists of rare vintage silver bar's.

I'll hopefully show some of it off in the next few days. I have to spread it out since the funding for it is sporadic and I gotta be consistent about posting on the shiny.

It seems like you have a collection that could rival some of them, but it's hard to tell sometimes. No worries, as long as we're stacking, then we're ahead of most of the world. Just have to keep at it. :)

I agree! These puts us way ahead....🤜🤛

Now Your Talking @silveringots That is the same way I feel when I can buy Scarce Engelhards or JM's still sealed consecutively in the original plastic.

That's just money in the bank @stokjockey

As you have noted those sets represent so much more than just a few bars. When I look at them I see the work of a collector or the foresight of someone who love the hobby. Thanks for the awesome post!

Thanks for your kind words @dwingsworld

My friend, I agree that consecutive numbers imply in greater premiums, but how much greater? Let's say a vintage bar alone costs $100. If I have the following number how much would it cost now? And if I have three consecutive numbers? I want to have an idea of the power of consecutive numbers on vintage bars.

Typically, I would say an extra $100-$200 more in value for consecutive sets. It really comes down to the manufacturer. Some are much more rate than others. To have a consecutive set on US Mint San Francisco bar's would add $500 to the overall value. Atleast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85