# 252 - The Discovery of America - Part 2

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Continuing our series of Spanish Commemorative coins related to the 500th Anniversary of the Discovery of America, we will show you today the 1989 5,000 Pesetas.

It weights 54g (1.74oz) with 92.5% silver purity with Proof finish. Its mintage was 33,000 units.

DSC_0942.JPG

The obverse features the Spanish Coat-of-Arms.

DSC_0945.JPG

The reverse shows us the Santa Maria, the flagship of Christopher Columbus.

DSC_0946.JPG

This series will continue very soon.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

I am liking this series very much. The coin is beautiful and the wood case is a very creative one.

All the next coins that I have in this series come inside wood cases. Individual coins like this one or multiple coins, like in the next article about this series.

This post has received a 62.50% upvote from Thunder Vote!

That is a very nice coin my friend and I like the wooden case, cheers.

All the coins of these series came in wooden cases. They say that there is a small town at the north of Spain that the Mint employs everybody to make these cases.

You have received an upvote from the CryptoSicko Delegation Bot. Thank you for supporting and helping to build me

Thank you for the upvote.

Cool coin, we had a painting of that ship a long time ago, I must see if It's still in the family, It was my favorite.

If you find it, please post it. I like pictures (and coins) with old ships.

Spanish ships were always with a silver cargo and then they were ready to be plundered...

Loading...

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84