So Many Milkspots! Arrrrgggghhh!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Golden greetings and silver salutations. I wrote a post about keeping an inventory of your coins yesterday here. In early preparation for this, I started going through much of my collection.

Normally sorting through my collection is a joy, but there is one thing I always dread. It is finding how many coins will have succumbed to the dreaded scourge of milk spotting. Well here are some of the victims.

First off, a 2015 Somali Elephant:

somali milk.jpg

Here's a 2014 Australian Crocodile:

2014 croc milk.jpg

This one hurts, because I love the 2015 Australian Kangaroos:

2015 Roo milk.jpg

For the finale, here's one from Canada's Birds of Prey series:

canada milk2.jpg

canada milk.jpg

Sadly, all of these were in air-tites, proving air-tites do not stop milk spotting. I have removed these coins from their cases. SSG community, would you reuse these cases?

If you are brand new to stacking, welcome! The spots you see are the scourge of every stacker's existence. They wipe away any premiums that your coin may be worth. You cannot avoid them all together, but you learn what coins commonly spot. Personally, I have found that Maple Leafs, Brittanias, and Elephants commonly get these spots, but no coin is 100% safe from spotting.

Keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold and #TheAlliance!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

Same here. I haven't had much issues with milk-spots. Then again, my silver never gets to see the light of day!

Yes I feel your pain. Had quite a lot like that too. I don't really buy the bullion coins are done this way to cut cost BS from dealer...

That's when I went hand poured silver I never turned back. People like to complain about the premiums of hand poured but when you buy a 30 , 40 , 50+ dollar 1 oz coin and It spots what does that do to your profit margin? I know I had to learn the hard way. What broke me was a wood box set of libertads I got that spotted on me. Just cant do it again. Great post Mike #mikesunited

I hear ya, Mike. I rarely buy anything that is more than $22 - $23. I am sorry to hear about the Libertads! Those haven't spotted on me yet. I love the Mexican silver!

As for poured, I don't currently own any. I may have just placed an order for a little bit a few days ago. I'll let you guess who I ordered from ☺

I keep my silver in a safe and pop in any and all moisture absorbing sachets I get my hands on - so far I've had good results with this

I haven't had to many milky ones. I get a darkening around the edges. I just started buying capsules for all my better coins.

I stopped buying some of the repeat offender coins, so I don't have as many worries about spotting as I used to.

Yeah I know what you mean. However I think it is not the capsule nor the tube. The RCM is fameous for the milk stains (the RCM milk is much bigger than spots). I have that on all of my 50 maples and zero on my 300 philharmonics. RCM blames die or balnks cleaning residu I once read.

Ugh so sad!

Hi everyone,

to be honest I don´t give a f*ck about those milkspots.
They do not reduce the value of the ounces. I also do not care about the type of ounces.
Britannia, Maple Leafs or American Eagle or Mexico Libertad.
I have serveral differnt coins and they are all stored in my safes.

I bought silver because I believe in the value of the metal. Not in the coin it self. I also bought a 1kg piece of silver which I use sometimes as door stopper or as paperweight.

Do not fall in love too much with your coins.
It´s the material (silver) that counts.

But maybe I´m not that deep in love anymore, as I got really used to own silver now for over 7 years.

Just my 5cts.

There is nothing wrong with being a weight stacker. It just stinks when you pay a premium for a coin and it spots. None of the coins shown above had very high premiums. The Canadian one was probably the highest, and was probably $3-$4 over spot.

Ok, if you buy "premium coins" because you like the coins, it stinks :-)

I always try to get the cheap 1oz coins which are .999 silver.
That´s all I do.
I do not spend more money for special editions.

Because I think in the end nothing really matters but the price of the metal.

I hate milk slots too. Maples for me seem to be the worst.

Maples have been the worst for me as well. I just don't buy Canadian silver. That being said, I recently bought some for 99 cents over spot. I figured it was government backed and just about the price of generic.

This post has received a 1.74 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @mikeshuh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72