I Just Found a Silver Coin From the Kingdom of Bhutan! Wait? Where?!?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Golden greetings and silver salutations. I just wrote a really long post and was going to head to bed. I was perusing APMEX (because I seriously look at things like that before sleeping) and stumbled upon a coin that inspired me to write another quick post.

Collecting silver has been a geography lesson for me. Had any of you ever heard of Niue before they released a million coins? No? How about Tuvalu? Not that one either? So finding a coin from the Kingdom of Bhutan was a first for me. Its Wikipedia describes it as a landlocked country in South Asia that is located in the Eastern Himalayas. The coolest fact I could find in my quick skimming was that the King of Bhutan is called "The Dragon King". Now that is a cool name for your countries leader.

Onto the coin. It is a cool looking lunar coin. It will run you $26 or so from APMEX (MCM has it for more, JMB and Provident don't have it...and I can't blame them). The mintage is 200,000 and it comes in a plastic case with a certificate of authenticity, though I doubt anyone is trying to fake this coin.

Ok, onto the photos. These images are all borrowed from APMEX's website, so give them the credit. I have only known this coin existed for a couple of hours.

153599_Slab.jpg

153599_Obv.jpg

And here is the certificate:

153599_Rev.jpg

All in all, that mintage is high for that premium. While I really like the look of the coin, since I haven't heard of the country before (and I look for stuff like this), I doubt there is much demand. I will likely pass on this one. If you are a huge fan of Bhutan or have Steem profits to burn, pick one up and show the #steemsilvergold community what one of these looks like in person.

Now I am officially headed to bed. No more coin browsing for me tonight.

Keep stacking...coins from random countries! Keep supporting SSG and #TheAlliance!

Alliance1.jpg

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Thanks for the shout out, Botty! You're the best!

Very cool coin and thanks for sharing. I will probably be passing as well, but this is definitely a beautiful coin!

I don't mind the design on that one.

Haha...pretty cool though. No, missed that one in Geography class I think. I think if I was the King, yep, call me Dragon King.

They'd call me the Burger King if I lived there!

Haha! I'm changing mine to King Kong. I think that's probably the village where this coin was made....give the giant gorilla king his silver sacrifice each month...bahahahaha!! I love that movie 🦍🦍

Mintage 200K? That is one coin for each family in Bhutan. :)

They could probably have 2!

That's beautiful.
Bhutan is a tiny kingdom bordering north India. It's apparently very peaceful with not many tourists venturing there. That's what an Indian friend of mine told me about it.

Kudos on at least having heard of it before.

Yeah obscure place!

postingan anda sangat menarik

Niue has nice coins, I have a few... I think many of them are made by The Royal Canadian Mint. Very affordable coins close to spot price. your Kingdom of Bhutan is really nice!! I might have to add it to my stack soon! thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73