A Hundred Dollar Maple Leaf Coin?!?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! It has been a while Steemit! I haven't spent much time here lately as work is keeping me busy and I haven't run across many new coins. However, tonight I saw one that I could not believe.

I was excited when the Royal Canadian Mint unveiled their new "Mint Shield" program. No more milk spots, right? I'm skeptical, but I am giving them a chance. I picked up a Maple Leaf, 2 incused Maple Leafs and 2 30th Anniversary Maple Leafs, but you know which one I won't be buying... the 2018 Reverse Proof incused Silver Maple Leaf.

Don't get me wrong, I like Maple Leafs. I just said I bought 5 this year and that is after being burned numerous times by the "milk man". Also, this coin has a low mintage, 6,500. Sounds good so far, right. Lets look at them (info and photos are from Modern Coin Mart, the only dealer that I know that has them).

incuse proof.jpg

Image Source

Looks a lot like the regular incused maple. And the reverse:

incuse proof rev.jpg

Image Source

Looks standard, except the value is now $20 instead of the standard $5. That and some edge lettering is the difference. And now the price...$96 - $99 (depending on how you pay)! What?!? That is about the cost of the 5 Maples that I already bought. To me, that is crazy!

Am I wrong? I honestly admit, I do not collect proof coins and maybe I am just ignorant. You know the disclaimer...I am not a financial adviser and this is not financial advice. Until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

SSG.png

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

I think on these low mintage/exclusive runs that the company sends them in and anything ms69+ is slabbed for premium sale and the rest....all you. I don't think you're biting on this one.

Good to have you back! Hopefully no milk spots :)

Interesting how the Canada Central Bank has sold all but 77 Gold rounds, but they realize through devaluation of fiat currency, that they had to re-price their 1 oz Silver Maple to a $20 value, as priced in USD, then really close to it's Current value. Good post

I hear you buddy. No "WOW!" factor to it. It is interesting however that they changed the denomination, although not enough to make it equivalent to the current fave value to spot price of silver at the moment.

Yeah thats pretty steep man

Interesting. Glad they changed the denomination.

Being a proof coin takes it from the "bullion"category. So, to RCM, it becomes a commemorative coin and RCM charges enormous prices on its commemoratives.

pretty sure I can get you a better deal then that over time.
it's just a 1 oz silver right

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Reply to this comment if you want me to resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. Then whenever you make a new blog post that you want me to resteem go to my Comments and reply to any of my comments on other steemians blog posts. Please upvote my comment after I resteem your blog post. @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19