Steemsilvergold - Get to Know Each Other - First Job, Worst Job, Current Job?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone in the #steemsilvergold community! I thought that it might be a fun idea to write a "Get To Know Each Other" type of post - about our past and current jobs.

Give as much or as little detail as you are comfortable with. We can't divulge any state secrets! Funny comments are always welcome, no rules here 😁

whatisjob.jpg (all images sourced from Bing image search)

My idea is for each of us to reply with:

Your First Name:
Your First Job:
Your Worst Job:
Your Current Job:

Sort of an introduction and maybe you will even learn something new about your best #ssg bud that you didn't know!

th-6.jpg

We spend a lot of time commenting and replying to each others' posts each day.

It's easy to sort of form our own opinions about other members, especially if you're new like me, and just trying to figure out who is who.

homer-quote.jpg


Your First Name: _________

Your First Job: ___________

Your Worst Job: __________

Your Current Job: _________


Hopefully this is something that we can all get a laugh out of. If it's lame, yep blame me 😁

I was thinking about posting it the other day and just kept putting it off, doubting that anyone would actually give a shit.

I have to learn to just try things, even if I don't feel that I am "as good as everyone else". If it flops, who cares right?

I should add that to my 2018 Stacking Goals - "Stop Kicking Your Own Ass"

@goldenarms and @edthecanadian - I know, I know, right after "Stop Being A Wussy" haha

th-2.jpg

Please Reply with your Funny or True Job Stories, upvote, Resteem, Follow, and all that.

Thanks JB

U5dr61qgo3LQQKgjUH2XXMso4x6Xd7a_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Template copied from @tbnfl4sun because my name is Tony too

MY First Name: _Tony

MY First Job: _Icecream scooper

MY Worst Job: _dishwasher

Your Current Job: _packing

Hi Tony! Great to meet you @tzcap! I was a dishwasher/bus boy for a little while when I was 16, actually kind of liked the fast pace. I had this industrial sized stainless steel dishwasher though...a Hobart..size of a small car.
My job, clear the tables fast, rake them off, wonder why so many people left THAT much steak on a plate, then rinse and Hobart the Hell out of'em.
It put gas in my truck, beer on my tailgate, and paid for a date or two. Such a stressful life I had then Haha!

Appreciate the comment. Good to know you!

Nice to cyber meet you too JB! Oh dishwashing - everything else was raked off except for the shrimp, if they were whole and looked un-touched you can guess where they went too

Haha...the cat at home?? I was always tempted lol, but afraid that there was a reason that this was still on that plate! Too funny😁

MY First Name: _Tony

MY First Job: _Mowing lawns

MY Worst Job: _cement work

Your Current Job: _Carburetor and throttle body injection rebiulder

Hi Tony @tbnfl4sun! I did some excavating and cement work in the mid 90s, yeah...that's some tough work. I always wanted to learn more about carburetors, every time I've worked on one, I end up with a pail full of parts to bring to someone else to fix Haha!

Thanks for commenting!

That happens every day! lol!

I'm a secret agent obviously! But I warned you and @goldenarms what would happe! Lol

Lmao...don't worry, I'm not going to blow your cover @armshippie.

I'll just tell everyone that you're an undercover officer, that should smooth things over and throw them off the trail! 🕵️‍♂️

John
First job paperboy
Worst job paperboy. Think Detroit in January at 6 am.
Current job man hunter.

Thanks John. Yeah I imagine early mornings in Detroit were pretty cold!

Michael
Newspaper boy
arby’s
Machine operator

Hi Michael, thanks for commenting! Nice to meet you. jb

nice meeting you all

Your first name: Eli
Your first job: clerk at Toys R Us, the glory days of unloading trucks of toys, assembling bikes and play structures all while wearing super cool salmon colored t-shirts.
Your worst job: hands down the toilet factory - that was the shittiest job ever. Second to the coissant factory where I stood beside a conveyor belt and pulled off the ones that weren’t perfectly rolled.
Your current job: Northern Nurse working with First Narions people in remote northern Ontario - this would be my favorite job if that were an option.
Also current job: Partener at Pheli Mint with my best bud @phelimint

Hi Eli @ejr! Glad to finally meet you! I've heard a lot about you, either through Steemit posts or on the @phelimint site Haha!

It sounds like you have a great "favorite job", I should have included that question too maybe! Your croissant factory story reminde me of my egg farm days when I was just starting out. Watching eggs come down a conveyor and sorting/packing them. Monotonous. Thanks for commenting! jb

Hey Stackers!!
My name : Marielle
First job : self employed as the neighborhood babysitter
worst job: fast food pizza place ( I quit after 3 hours I hated it so much)
current job: welder/boilermaker

nice to see all the other responses!! Cheers all xox

Hi Marielle @ladybug146! Thank you for commenting!

I have never worked at a pizza place, but to be honest with you I think I might like it! I love to cook and also the fast pace! Glad to meet you! jb

lol well, thats not the part that bothered me, I worked at another pizza joint for a few years and that was ok, low pay but all the pizza you want! The 3 hour one , I had all the employees breathing down my neck watching me make their pizza while they criticized how i did it...so i said enough with that noise. Nice to meet you as well @jbcoin / Jerry! best of luck.

Your First Name:Phil
Your First Job: Cleaning a butcher shop/meat department. You would not believe how gross saw dust made of meat is and what would be in the floor drains!
Your Worst Job: I actually really liked the gross meat department job, the worst was likely my last one at the hospital, mostly because my boss was an ass and a total bully.
Your Current Job: Staff Nurse at the hospital in the General Surgery Department, even though I'm qualified to be a Nurse Practitioner but I had to leave that job for the reasons above.

Wait I have other current job too: I run a private mint and online silver store www.phelimint.com, with my partner and best bud @ejr and I'm also a volunteer firefighter.

Well, yeah. I thought you would get around to mentioning https://www.phelimint.com lol. I have a few firefighter friends. Takes a unique person to be a firefighter or EMS, imho

Great! @phelimint, my wife has been a nurse for 25 years, so I have heard ALL of the nursing stories, trust me. More than my fair share really, haha. I wish that I could unhear several of them in fact...penis removal, what?

Thank you for commenting. I would personally love to work in a butcher shop! I enjoy cooking!

First Name: Jonny
First job: Paperboy, did it for 3 years 6 days a week. Got knocked down twice and my mum made me stop.
Worst job: Outbound Call Center worker. Hello, my name Jonathan. I am calling on behalf of BT about your home phone and internet provider. If i could please take a few moments of your time to answer a few questions, i think i can save your some money. I would like to make you aware that all calls are monitored to quality and training purposes........ say that 700 times a day and you'll remember it the rest of your life. Did the job for 12 days before i walked out.
Current job: Baker - Having trained as a baker after leaving school this is what i do everyday. I am a supervisor in the bakery department of a factory that produces fresh foods. For me, its easy, my job consist's of planning the days production, arranging the staff to it done quickly and other day to day stuff. All in all, its ok but lately im thinking steemit could be the way out of a 9-5 are at least pay for a nice holiday each year

Thanks Jonny @silverstackeruk! Paperboy, that is a great first job! One of those jobs that will probably someday disappear, along with the newspaper itself 😐

It sounds like you have a very interesting occupation now, for sure. I love to cook, but my baking skills are shit!
I know what you mean about getting out of the 9-5 job though. I've been debating retiring early and doing the things I like, but life sort of has a way of deciding it for you Lol! Thanks for commenting, great to meet you! jb

First Name: Rob
First Job: Farm Stand
Worst Job: NY Tel pay phone repair in Hasidic Jewish summer camps
Current Job: Hardware developer for large computer systems

Thanks Rob @bushkill! Thank you for commenting and introducing yourself! I'm getting to meet a lot of new people, and kind of forcing myself to do it lol.
I'm not an outgoing person, so this post is kind of my way of making myself interact a little more! I am definitely not a computer person, so I appreciate what you do!

I'm not outgoing either though my friends and family find it hard to believe because I never stop talking ;-) Great to meet you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97