A bit of a score for @fat-elvis

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Hello stackers!

I made a trip to the Local Coin Shop today, and he had put something aside that he thought I would be interested in...

Right away I noticed that it appears to be a box...

IMG_20180314_133526.jpg

Wait. This is a box from the Royal Canadian Mint, with 1975 postage!

IMG_20180314_134113.jpg

What's inside?

IMG_20180314_133557.jpg

Ok. I think I know what it is, and why he put it aside for me now... It's what some call "junk silver"

IMG_20180314_133634.jpg

Sweet! I've wanted the whole set for a while now... In fact I think I already had most of the coins, but this one has the coins in capsules and in the original presentation case!

IMG_20180314_133650.jpgIMG_20180314_133705.jpgIMG_20180314_133721.jpg

So, boom just like that, a bit over 30 ozt pillaged for just over spot price! Not a bad score, and the LCS owner was happy to sell them for that, I wonder what he gave the grandkids when they sold grandpa's coin collection?

DQmSD7Vu9Hxx4HufVE6mhZVR2DyHKgwjxin6CsUc4WdNnRs.jpeg

Sort:  

Dude! Just over spot! They are giving it away!!!

Yeah, these are fairly common, and The coin shop owner knows I'd been looking for an original 28 coin case for a while, so when he brought a complete set in he knew who to hold it for! But yeah priced like generic rounds, so it's tough to beat!

That’s some classy silver! Nice score buddy.

Thanks KP. these are a kinda nice way to get cheap silver!

Yes. 1976 Montreal Olympic silver set. $10.00 1.44oz coins and $5 0.73oz. sterling

@fat-elvis It is Cool to come across a Nice Set Fully Intact................

That's an interesting set. 👍

Thanks Pit. It's the full sterling 1976 set.

Congratulations on the whole collection, I remember you telling me last year that there was still more to collect when you showed a few of them.. nice one , that’s absolute beast mode

Thanks Meilo. The ship happened to have a complete set, and now I have a bunch of duplicates, but they're priced like bullion so it's Ok to have extras for the stack.

Sweet looking coins dude, but I am wondering why the athletes are on penny farthings as I don't remember the cycling events being like a steem punk festival,😉😉🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️🚴‍♀️🥇🥈🥉

I was wondering why they don't use penny farthings in the Olympics! That would liven up the event a bit!

The crashes would be superb, I would also like to see curling done with celebrities and it could be hosted by Mr T.

Celebrity Curling with Mr T, would be prime time gold

I'd watch anything with Mr.T or Gary Busey.

Nice score, it’s a real nice set of coins. Probably bought it for 70% of spot price. 👍

thanks man. He had a bunch of Canadian silver coinage in as well, and some new stock on pennies and even some old gold. I figure that he probably paid 50-70% spot for the lot. But it's Ok, I got it for the same price as generic bullion, so I'm pretty happy.

Dealers always pay as little as possible for stuff. Sounds like he made quite a score. No doubt I’d be happy👍

Very nice.... smiles all round

Thanks roxdude

wow epic collection, i resteem that bro !!!

Thanks Philou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85