Unusual Precious Metals : The Klondike Prospector

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

The Klondike is one of the most Gold rich regions of the world and when Gold was discovered there in the late 19th century it sparked a Gold Rush that was historically famous as the conditions were quite harsh and even though an estimated 100,000 people took part in the Gold Rush a lot of them didn’t make it.

goldrush.jpg
Source

I normally stack fairly recognisable or well-known Precious Metals but when I came across a limited edition set of "The Klondike Prospector" I thought it was worth buying something a bit more exotic. Only 5000 of these sets were made by the Royal Australian Mint and the Precious Metals in the set are 99.9% pure Gold and Silver so I thought that would be a cool addition to my stack.

Klondike1.JPG

They should probably be referred to as Rounds since they are not legal tender and have no government nominated fiat currency value. There is a 1.5oz Gold Round and two 2.5oz Silver Rounds which you can see clearly inside the set in this photo. They all have the same designs on both sides.

Klondike2.JPG

The obverse shows the bearded old prospector with his pan which typifies the Gold Rush.

Klondike3.JPG

The reverse show a Golden Eagle which is flying over the Yukon area in Canada.

Klondike4.JPG

The set is hardly in mint condition but it’s still a nice collector piece, especially for anyone who has historical ties to this great historical gold rush. I’m sitting on it for now because I like the piece and it’s a great story. I am a big believer in respecting history and learning from it, but if the right buyer came along at the right price I might let it go.

If you like history there's great info about the Klondike Gold Rush HERE


steemsilvergold.png

TeamAust_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://commons.wikimedia.org

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! My brother recently got into collecting coins. I actually found him an Arkansas quarter to complete his full state quarter set ;)

@themixedhippie I bet you've love to find some of these!!

Wow, that is really cool. I wish my brother was more like that!

I like all the #steemsilvergold tags i've been seeing lately. It's nice to learn about the interesting rounds and coins that people have in their collection. Especially the stories attached to them. @ironshield

Thanks. Glad to hear you're enjoying the #steemsilvergold posts!

I love seeing gold and silver on steemit. Too many crypto crazed people thinking prices will sky rocket forever. I recommend people start buying precious metals with their cryptos.

I am also a bit crypto-crazed, but it is important to diversify.

It's good to look at history sometimes. You're awesome @buggedout!

Thank you. That is very kind :)

your collection is more valuable than gold it self. briliant article. thank's for sharing

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74