You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: M O N E Y !!

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago

You are right about the USD and Bitcoin. They are currencies which are being used as a medium of exchange, but they are not a good store of wealth because they're not backed by anything.

I am finding the word "money" to really be a layman term to just make everything generic. Governments redefine what words mean all the time and so "money" has been redefined to be "fiat currency" in these modern times.

I reckon let it go. Talk about currency vs wealth instead and just leave "money" out of the discussion. No matter how bad it gets I'd be surprised if we end up walking around buying things at the shop with gold and silver. They are a great store of wealth but I doubt they'll ever be used as a widespread currency ever again.

Sort:  

G'day. I hear what you're saying and agree with most of it. I just think that when the time comes and fiat does actually collapse, gold and silver will play a part as a medium of exchange as well as the ultimate store of wealth.

Well, it is okay to be suprised every now and then, I do not think that they will be the primary form of money, but I do how ever believe they will play a part. And your right about the redifined word of money, but as you and I know the government is usually wrong. Hey thanks for dropping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82