learning curve one: completed

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Good morning my lovely ssg friends and I apologise I did not post yesterday, it was however, a day well spent, as it was friday most of it was spent homeschooling, and those times that weren't were spent literally reading, watching, researching, til my poor eyes could no longer stay open. My status as stackling improved yesterday, I learned a lot about fake coins and testing etc, and I know that all of you my lovely friends already know your background to these subjects but I am very new to this and I was quite blown away, not in a good way, although I certainly appreciate learning the lesson.
fl2.png
So now I see how difficult it is to tell whether any precious metal bought is in fact real, and that I have no way of testing it :( I learned the magnet tests are unreliable, and I cannot go getting that chemical because I have a slight challenge where my bones are concerned, certain bones complain at me more than others , one of the complainers is my left arm, consequently the holding of dangerous chemicals that really ought not to be spilled?...... not a thing :)
I was left quite dismayed, worried I had bought fake coins, luckily as you know I had only bought a couple, but all the same I decided I wasn't going to buy any more vintage coins from ebay, I also decided that in fact I would only buy hallmarked silver miniatures from ebay and all other silver or gold buying I would only do from trusted sites. Luckily all my maple leaves and monkey were bought from trusted site and came with invoices.
fl2.png
Many of you have helped me learn and some have been absolutely brilliant recommending sites etc for me to look at, particular thanks go to @silverd510 I spent some time looking at all the sites you recommended, also thank you to the damus, dixiesilverminer,khamen, cyber-explorer, gdwcoins,ronaldoavelino, I am sorry if I missed any names but there have been so many who have helped please know I thank all of you and it is merely the fact that I have limited time to write this that I may inadvertantly miss anyones name, so I shall just say; and others that I dont have the time to write all the names now but you have all helped with advice that I have taken to heart.
fl2.png
In the course of my many hours research I also covered the concept of deciding what I get most from collecting now, I have definitely changed how I collect, I have also changed what I want to collect, I now take into account a number of factors before buying, I now decide if I am adding to the weight of my stack or whether I am after a particular coin for the design, I no longer collect vintage coins, and in the main I will be concentrating on designs that have personal appeal rather than rarity etc and weight.
This means I have now cut down my wishlist by half :) and it now takes me much longer to actually commit to buying something :) To me the weight comes first, so I am now concentrating on making sure I buy more weight than design, and the design now has to satisfy a very basic but important rule before I buy it , and that rule is called the 'hell yeah' rule :)
the hell yeah rule
For those who don't know I spent many years as a feng shui practitioner. It was good I enjoyed it, it was a lot of bloody hard work, and contrary to popular belief there is no money in it, at least I never made any money, but then I am that soft lass who whenever someone says 'oh but we are friends so you won't charge me', goes ahead and does it for free, so gave up fang shui. Following that though, after a while, I discovered Abraham Hicks, and have followed everything she says with much enthusiasm. I had many issues that Abraham solved, I was left with one last big, big, big, problem, and it was personal :) No way, I thought, no way she would have an answer........... she did. Abraham said to me 'only do it if it feels like a hell yeah moment if it makes you feel like saying hell yeah then you got it' and in that one sentence she solved my last issue and I was free. I have used it many times since, so now I shall use it for guidance in my treasure buying :) if I see a coin or bar that makes me say 'hell yeah' I will buy it other than that I will add for weight................................. only thing is; now I have to stop saying 'hell yeah' to every pretty coin I see :)

lets go find treasure!

thank you for reading
Velveteen 2018

klj.png

dreamsteembyvelveteen.png

Sort:  

Hell Yeah! I like it! Now to get my memes toned down a bit...

C4CFB166-97F1-4EBF-AA4F-E7766CF37AC6.jpeg

Keep on rockin’ it @beckieg
🤣👍

thats the best good morning greeting :) thank you :) have a fab day, much respect to you my friend

My friend, would you listen to a small advice from a 70 years old coins collector? Coin colecting and stacking are slow enterprises. It takes a long time to know what you should know about it and to decide what kind of acquisitions you will be more happy with.
So, here goes the advice: Slow your pace. You are taking many decisions in a short time. Go easy. You have the rest of your life to enjoy it...

thank you my friend i very much appreciate and respect your advice and you are right, if you were to know me in real life you would smile, evryone says the same as you :) i am known for boundless energy and enthsiasm i do tend to think feel and live at a fast pace, i don't like to sleep as to me it is wasted time and i always have many projects on the go :) i have many hobbies and my brain is obsessed with learning and self improvement, i am trying hard to make conscious decisions to slow down but it is my nature, i very much appreciate your advice and i will defunitly try, thank you for your kind words and caring nature i appreciate it, i am just a little whirlwind of energy :) much respect to you

@beckieg, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

thank you, respect

Good wishes @beckieg,
Your post "learning curve one: completed" hast just been Resteemed !!! 😄😻😄
You have achived this service by following me.


🙃🙃🙃 If you want's to stop me, Please Unfollow @tow-heed😉😉😉

many thanks, respect

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

many thanks for being the best community ! respect

Congratulations @beckieg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

thank you, respect

Good strategy, I say hell yes way too much!

me too! :) thank you for dropping by i appreciate it, hope you have a fab day, respect

Congratulations @beckieg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

thank you respect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86