Trying Something New 🔥 pt3

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1651.JPG

Alrighy so now it was my turn to give the pour a shot. I started by picking 2 oz's of silver. Threw them in the crucible and got to melting.

IMG_1647.JPG

I figured for my first melt I would use some of the silver I got recently. Thanks again @raybrockman, told you these were going right in 😁

IMG_1648.JPG

One it was nice and hot I decided I would give it a shot. Unfortunately it wasn't quite hit enough so it didn't fill the mold completely. However it came out looking like a bar!

IMG_1654.JPG
It actuality came out to 20 grams even, which I thought was cool!
IMG_1655.JPG

So I figured next I would go ahead and try to pour the rest out into the mold. This time I ended up throwing a little extra heat on. The second torch is just propane.... I'll have to pick up another map one...

IMG_1650.JPG

Unfortunately when I went to pour I got some in the mold and missed the rest. If you look close you can see the part that's kind of squared off.

IMG_1682.JPGIMG_1683.JPG

This last pick is it what was left in the crucible. I just kind of poped it out and hit it with the torch to smooth it out a little bit.

IMG_1685.JPGIMG_1684.JPG

Well everyone that was it, my first day of pouring. I think the first one is cool! The others I will probably remelt another time. I learned some things and got my first bit of real experience!

Hope you enjoyed watching this unfold, I definitely had fun doing it!

A8C1E36C-489D-4569-BC43-536316DEC360-3049-000001F7087F8863.png
IMG_0731.PNG

Sort:  

Damn! My Stackitus is raging!!!

I had to have my prescription filled!

The first one is really cool! I'm excited to see what you have coming up next!

Keep on Stackin it high!

First effort is awesome! Woo-hoo! The rest can be remelted and replayed!

Tip!

Thank you! I couldn't believe it actually turned out that cool but I really like it.

OK, you're not filling me with confidence here. I honestly thought I would just turn up, melt my silver er and end up with a masterpiece!!

So it's harder than it looks? Still waiting for my crucible to turn up and then I'll make some molds. Can't wait to get started. I've watched enough YouTube videos on pouring now, so fingers crossed I can make a start.

Way harder than the mafia makes it look! I watched a ton of videos myself. However with anything I figure it will take practice. Don't be too discouraged. What kind of molds are you planning on? Sand casts or some graphite?

Its so much fun though welshy! You'll see...

Keep it hot 😁

The hotter the better as far as I can tell 🔥

Looking good, with each pour we learn something new. Every piece you pour is your art.

Thank you I'm glad you have been enjoying the series. It's funny the feeling you get when you know you created something cool.

I watched HIHO silver on YT developing from a non pourer to a now big seller of shiny large silver bars. It takes some time.

Practice practice practice, and lots of it.

#TheAlliance Power ;)

I know this might sound funny but the silver has a golden hue to it. Of course it might be a bit golden owing to the heat that was applied to it. Good step by step description adds to the interest in the procedure. :-)

Thank you! I think the color might just be from the lighting.... It's so hard to photograph silver because it is so shiney.

I would say those are great first attempts! It can only get better with practice!

Thank you skye1! 😁 I have lots of practice in my future.

I agree that first one is so cool

Thanks JJ glad you liked it.

Looks king forward to swing what else you make

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20