Steem Saturday Meet-Up @ Indaba Hotel Johannesburg, South AfricasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsaturday7 years ago (edited)

We Came, We Saw, We Met the Community.

When I booked our flights to Johannesburg a few weeks back I had no idea of what we were setting ourselves up for, I booked us into the Indaba hotel, same place as the venue for the meet-up to avoid any delays in travel time. In my mind, this would be a high rise hotel with a conference center in there somewhere. I suppose you can tell I’m Captonian right… When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find it is a ground floor hotel compound kinda vibe. We got there before check-in time and opted to have lunch while we wait. We ordered a smoked Salmon salad, we were totally blown away by how cheap it was R 75.00, in Cape Town I would have expected to pay R 130.00 for the same meal, absolutely delicious by the way. We were fascinated with the huge Chess set in the courtyard, needless to say, we had a couple of games with no decided victor.

Me and Nic batteling it out.
image source

Saturday morning we arrived at the conference room and everyone there was chatting away, it took us all of a few minutes to meet some people. Everyone at the event was super friendly, I met up with @colinbrazendale a fellow Steemian & YouTuber, it was great to finally meet someone I’d only ever before interacted with in the comments section. We also later met @migzillion another Steemian & Youtuber, what made this extra special is Nic and myself were having a chat and he came up to us like I know you guys Nic and Steph right? We both looked at each other as this was like the first time we got noticed like that… Felt weird but good at the same time, knowing that at least someone was watching our channels. Lol. But enough about the small talk, let’s get into the main event.

image source

I just want to say the speakers were all out of this world and totally blew both Nic and myself away. I never expected an event of this quality for free EVER!

Mitchell Loureiro the VP of Marketing for Steemit.com, Lorien Gamaroff CEO of Bankymoon the SportsPodium Team ( https://www.podiumsearch.com/meet-the-team ) and their lawyers. Matt Brown from Digital Kungfu & The Matt Brown Podcast. Definitely, check him out a really cool guy with lots of thought provoking ideas. In fact, every single speaker that day absolutely had me hanging on their every word. I’m not going to go into much detail as the guys live streamed the whole event and I’ll link that down below. All and all, I have to say that the quick trip up to Joburg was worth every cent we spent on it. I have to give a special shout out to @jacor and their sponsors for organizing such a stellar event and I can’t wait for the next one.

Proudly Sponsored By
image source
If I’ve skipped over some names here don’t take it personally as I’m writing this on the plane on my way back to Cape Town. Thank you all for an epic day out, I look forward to the next event where hopefully I’ll get to meet a whole lot more of you, but till then.

Here is the link to the feed from the event.

https://www.facebook.com/SportsPodium-959147074226844

Peace be the journey.

Sort:  

I also enjoyed it immensely, learnt a lot, met a lot of fellow steemians and ate a lot as well!! Really looking forward to the next one and by then I am sure Steem will be at the 5USD mark!! Keep on steeming👍🏼

Hey Marcel, I like your thinking about the Steem price next year at $5.00. Let's go!

Hi @stephb great post, I loved meeting everybody and I agree the entire event was excellent.

100% Rynow, best and most informative event I've had the pleasure of attending...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86