Steem Garlic Available on Homesteaders Co-Op - In Australia!

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

I finally got around to creating my store on Homesteaders Co-Op! You can buy my purple organic garlic - get in quick before they all start sprouting as the weather starts getting cold! It's organic, pesticide free, and grown with love!

https://homesteaderscoop.com/product/purple-garlic/

These started about ten years ago when I bought three at a farmer's market. Last year I had 700 from my crop and this year I dont think I'll plant as much as the man can't eat it anymore as it is listed as a FODMAP, which hurts his stomach. I always plant at Easter, and pick them in December. The weather's getting cold in Victoria at the moment and the garlic that's been left in the soil (just accidentally) is already sprouting.


Whilst they might seem more expensive than supermarket garlic, remember that's often from Mexico or China and has been fumigated. A garlic in a pot, sprouting, at Bunnings will cost you six bucks and that'll only grow you ONE clove. Many of the online sellers of garlic run out at this time of year as it's a really popular crop.

Garlic on Emojipedia 12.0

I'm now the second Aussie vendor on Homesteaders Co-Op - as steem grows, so will HSCO, and we're hoping to get more vendors and buyers from all over the world. You can buy worms from @quochuy - check out his store here!

Garlic on Emojipedia 12.0

I plan to list hops, some seeds and jerusalem artichokes soon. My stuff will also be available for barter - it'd be really cool to get an Aussie seed swapping thing happening on HSCO as they also have a barter option!

Do you plan on listing products on HSCO?

Have you seen their amazing website here?

Do you know they don't just sell plants, but soap, jewellery, books and a whole lot more?

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.riverflowings.com/?p=300

Sort:  

Yay! Another Aussie vendor! I have my first purple garlic growing this year. It's always been the white before now.

Posted using Partiko Android

I got the purple at a market when I knew NOTHING about growing garlic at all - I'd love to try other varieties! Maybe we should do a swap!

I got the white at the supermarket as it comes in those mesh bags fairly cheap. Then there would be too much for us to use before they started sprouting, so into the ground they went. The last crop I had got bigger than the originals and the biggest ones have actually gone a bit purple on the skin too. The purple I got from the farmers' market. I'm going ill not need to buy again from now on.

What's garlic like for sending interstate?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it can be cheap but you also have to watch where it comes from. I don't like to support it unless it is Australian. However now you have a good supply of garlic that you have grown yourself so that is good news for all around

Posted using Partiko Android

It was Australian. The imports all seem to get fumigated and just rot instead of sprouting. I got some Spanish garlic once. :( Never got imported again after that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah yes I didn't think it sprouted, plus I have you more credit than that !

Posted using Partiko Android

I used some of @minismallholding's garlic in a roast on the weekend. By all that is delicious, best damn garlic I've ever had. I've got a pretty ample supply at the moment, but good to know this exists.

The only thing that I can seem to grow are chillies, everything else dies. :D

I have an orange tree which should have a good crop this year.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man, my chilllis didn't grow this year!!! Dammit. THey got overwhelmed by tomatoes. Roast Garlic is the BEST - in fact, I forgot I just need to grow it just to roast it for meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

I hope to get enough throughout the year to make some hot sauce. Chillies are so expensive at the shops, but so easy to grow!

Posted using Partiko Android

You have an order, now go process it chop chop quick quick 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow.... I'll post it to night! Xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

Stupidly, I didn't add the postage on it, but that's okay, as I was going to send you up that iris bulb as well, so I'll do both tonight when I get home from work!

@riverflows so I was being your tester too 😅
@sagescrub 😝

Posted using Partiko iOS

Package received! thanks

Awesome!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL! Customer is always right, however demanding :P

Awesome! I’m sure I can look it up but how do you plant your garlic? I’d love to give it a try now that it’s getting warmer up here in the northern hemisphere. Do you have soil additives and all that or do you buy soil and water it? Looks like some delicious garlic!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I plan to mine in the ground in a bed that I have prepared earlier with manure. I make sure I keep it weed free and as it warms up in spring I put mulch around it full stop halfway through the growing season I fertilize it with some gentle manure like sheep or alpaca. It is quite an easy crop to grow. I don't know about Northern Hemisphere conditions 4 garlic. I can grow it over winter here because the ground never freezes. Maybe @sagescrub can advise?

Posted using Partiko Android

That pretty much covers it @riverflows! Ideal time to plant garlic is around november or before the ground freezes in the colder climates so that it can grow roots over winter. Since we had just moved I planted mine last early march and they did OK but didn't get as good bulb formation as if they would have been if planted earlier. I think softneck is less picky about planting time than hardneck. Stop watering as soon as you see signs of the leaves starting to brown in the late summer (timing depending on your climate/season) then a few days later harvest and allow to cure in the shade before storing/braiding. They can be mulched fairly thickly at the same time as planting. Yes to manure!! Aged manure, or gentle manure!!

I'm glad you said storing/braiding - i never have time to braid - I just tie bunches of ten with hayband and hang them under the gazebo!

You can braid softneck, but will not get scapes. You get scapes with hardneck but they don't braid well. I LOVE scapes so have given up growing softneck. :))

Looks like I’ll have to come around soon to pick up some garlic!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

love it love it love it!!! so happy to see your store up and the first item. your garlic is gorgeous - such big cloves! get it while it's hot folks!

Stocks won't last!

Awesome .. I love garlic and if I was in Australia I'd be jumping all over this! I eat an entire head of garlic .. every single day, so I'd also make a good customer! lol

Ha, that's a lotta garlic! Hope the people around you eat it too!

Posted using Partiko Android

oh my gosh, beautiful, beautiful garlic. I am so glad you've opened up a shop!

Me too! It was fun!

This is so great @riverflows!! I love that you are looking to get some Aussie seed bartering action happening on Homesteaders Co-op. What a great idea!

I love garlic so much! I am in the habit of eating a clove a day now and it tastes so good!

Yay River!!!! So glad you're able to join as a vendor after so long as a loved and active contributor!

Hoping you many sales and growth all around! 💚💚💚💚

Ah to me its about sharing .. I'm excited about possibility of seed swapping! It was fun to set up my first online store and easy too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94