My resting heart rate data.... and why I can live without it!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: My resting heart rate data.... and why I can live without it!


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Yes, be careful what you wish for! A few years ago I couldn't understand why my resting heart rate was around 50 bpm. I certainly wasn't feeling athletic - in fact I'd put on 31lbs very quickly and felt tired all the time. It turned out that I had an underactive thyroid.
I treated it with high doses of iodine (a controversial therapy). Luckily it worked, and I'm now much fitter and have lost the 31lbs. My resting heart rate is now 54 bpm, and I'm pretty sure it's because I do regular hillwalking and indoor climbing.
65 bpm seems healthy and not low enough to cause concern - it probably is due to being fit and taking regular exercise.

Crikey! Glad to hear it all worked out for you in the end... that's good weight loss.

Walking really is one of the best excercises there is!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I basically lost all the weight I'd put on. I think climbing is the best exercise - we're all primates, so it's natural :)

Minimum Heart Beat is a good measure as well in order to know what’s your particular fit status in a particular moment of your training.
For instance, if I’m just awaking up but still laying on my bed and my heart beat is above 40 bpm it used to indicate that I’m still out of fit, instead if indicates values below 40, it used to be aligned with my best fit cardio performance.
Anyway, for me, getting a minimum Heart frequency is not a goal per se...because there are other variables that affect your performance as well as, for instance, the quality of food you ingest or your muscles strength...

Posted using Partiko iOS

It does interest me I might start varying a few more things to see what happens.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 0.21% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.439 which ranks you at #2112 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2108).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91