I'm Not From The Future, I'm From The Global Village

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

bg5.JPG

source

I started out tonight with the thought of not one but two totally different posts apart from what I'm writing now, I don't think you guys are ready yet, plus I have a banging headache that won't let me concentrate, and if I decide to get my hands off my keyboard, I can't stop my mind from typing on the keyboard inside my head.

Can technological revolution move at a pace that is faster than the speed of thought please!

Thinking of the present tech revolution, this current pace still has a lot of people lagging behind, apparently more than half of the people in the most advanced countries in the world such as the United States are still yet to adopt the use of Blockchain and it's cryptocurrency. Whose fault?

Let's take a step back as we remember the days when data had to be stored on diskettes, those crappy looking pieces of hardware, sure I can say that now, but back then some people's entire career depended on those ugly diskettes. They probably had information that could set the launch codes for the next earth's apocalypse.

The downside to those times is that those pieces of hardware were too fragile and could store only so much information. I was quite too young and underexposed to be in position of handling/using the diskettes then so I can't give so much information about it. Eventually, we began to see an influx of USB flash drives and memory sticks, pocket storage devices which had capabilities that surpassed that of the diskettes in terms of ease of use, rigidity, size and storage space, before we knew it, diskettes were bygones. Today some kids think the digital storage device started with the USB flash drives, can you blame them? I'm sorry but there is cloud storage now.

The use of USB flash drive is so widespread that it is very possible that out of 10 university students, 8 of them have those little pieces of hardware in their pockets. Thanks to technology, for making the traditional diskettes disappear into oblivion. Even now, the days of those pocket sized storage devices are slowly coming to an end as data can now be stored in the cloud. Once I told my student this, she looked up at the sky and said cloud!.

I had to chuckle at the reaction, but I didn't only chuckle, I showed her what it meant with a practical example. I gave her my phone and asked her to take a selfie with my google keep and write her name below it. Then I flipped my laptop open and launched my google keep desktop app, and voila, we found her face and name at the top of my notes. Then her brain made the connection and she smiled, it wasn't strange to her, she probably just didnt know what it was called. It was bliss. The use of internet has made cloud storage possible and data can be accessed and transferred from anywhere in the world with internet connection.

I think the pace of tech developments in the 90's wasn't as fast as it is now and that's because tech itself already laid the path for a fast pace when internet became mainstream and information began to flow at the speed of light making the world a global connected village.

These days, technology grows into people more than people grow into it. You find toddlers mimicking their parents by pointing their fingers and punching away at the screen of their mobile devices, the tech is there registering itself in their subconscious mind in the most interesting and exciting way, even more than the adults who own those tech-devices, the last thing I'd do is give my phone to a toddler, even with my screen locked with both pattern and password. I've had a terrible experience once, I know what I'm saying.

In essence, the pace of technological advancement cannot be stopped or altered, no doubt some people will be left behind, and they will only have themselves to blame for not keeping up. While it has grown into others subconscious, like my young student who didn't know what cloud storage meant but had been applying it since she knew she could send and receive email messages, some are still battling to ensure its reality by saving their data on and relying on the pocket flash drive, which is not so bad, for now.

Very soon tech content creators and enthusiasts won't be defining blockchain in their tech articles anymore, the general assumption will be that it is already known, they will focus more energy on explaining more complex terms that technology has yielded, through the blockchain, no one defines internet anymore do they? Do you?

I started out tonight with the thought of not one but two totally different posts aprat from what I'm writing now, I don't think you guys are ready yet, plus I have a banging headache that won't let me concentrate, and if I decide to get my hands off my keyboard, I can't stop my mind from typing on the keyboard inside my head.

This is why I asked if technological revolution could move at a pace that's faster than the speed of thought please!, I need those brain transfused keyboards where I can type words just by thinking about them. Would be awesome wouldn't it? I'm quite sure my first time will be a mumbo jumbo of words, due to my chaotic mind. But in time I'd get used to it, just like any other technology my lifetime has to experience.

You could say I'm from the future, but I'd say no and tell you that I'm only from a global village.

Live free, Live creative, Live Steem Blockchain!

Thank you for reading…cheers to the future!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://steemhosting.com/kilimanjaro/im-not-from-the-future-im-from-the-global-village/
Sort:  

You got a 6.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @mistakili! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34