Beer and Blockchain - When will mass adoption happen?

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

My days have been pretty quiet of late. My little man had surgery on his knee so I've been at home and looking after him for the past 3 weeks.

The little man himself

This has meant that my ability to visit local breweries, which I generally write about for my #BeerSaturday reviews, has been severely hampered. One benefit of sitting at home with my pup is that I've been able to spend a lot more time on Steemit and researching cryptocurrencies along with reflecting on some of the cryptocurrency related services that I've been participating in.

And that led me to think about these beer reviews, perhaps it's time to change these up where I'll discuss something that I've encountered in the cryptocurrency space along with the beer that I'm drinking. I feel that this may fit better with the overall theme of my blog.


What will it take for mass adoption of cryptocurrencies to be a thing?


This week saw me enter the @orignalworks writing contest with this entry. In the entry I discuss the GRAFT Network and their technology which has the potential to greatly aid in the mass adoption of cryptocurrencies. Basically, what they are doing is creating a payment system that will allow businesses to incorporate cryptocurrency payments into their existing Point of Sale (POS) systems, and allow for these currencies to be automatically converted into Fiat or another currency of their choosing. The technology and concept is fantastic, and will greatly help with cryptocurrencies becoming a part of every day society.


Source

But for cryptocurrencies to reach the mainstream and become part of our every day lives, we need to see them in all institutions and markets. So I was really pleased to see in the media yesterday an article about cryptocurrency courses now being offered at Russian Universities. And while this is nothing new in Russia, there was a similar article back in 2017, it is extremely exciting to see that courses are now being developed with a focus on cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology. It gives me hope that these types of courses will soon be offered across the globe. And if a course is ever offered in Australia, I'll be one of the first to jump in to gain a formal qualification in this field.

And finally, today an article was published where Mike Novogratz (a former Wall Street Executive and founder of Galaxy Digital crypto merchant bank) claims that the mass adoption of cryptocurrencies is five to six years from taking place. This time-frame seems perfectly reasonable to me. Mike believes that cryptocurrencies need to "not feel like something new" before they become an accepted part of our lives.


Source

He also believes that the cost of technical talent and the doubts of conventional investors are holding back the acceptance of cryptocurrencies. And while the cost of talent may not decline any time soon, the doubts of investors (both retail and large scale) will certainly pass as more professional institutions start moving into the cryptocurrency space.

So it seems to me that with new systems being built to allow for easy use of cryptocurrencies for the purchase of goods and services, with educational institutions getting on board with the technology, and with the view that investors, both large and small, will start to be more trusting of the technology, a view that mainstream adoption of blockchain technology is quite realistic in my eyes.


What was I drinking while writing this?


A few days ago, I was able to escape the home briefly to grab some beer for a party that my Wife was holding. I found a Californian craft beer at my local bottle shop that sounded quite interesting. I haven't had many American craft beers so was eager to give it a shot.


Ballast Point - Sculpin IPA


Ballast Point's Sculpin IPA


Ballast Point is a brewery that was established way back in 1996. It was started by a small group of home-brewers, and is now a well established brewery in San Diego.

The Sculpin IPA is their flagship beer and they describe it as:

"inspired use of hops creates hints of apricot, peach, mango and lemon flavors, but still packs a bit of a sting, just like a Sculpin fish."

The beer pours a deep amber, with a decent head that lingers for a while. I love a good aromatic and fruity IPA, it's these traits that keep me coming back to them. But with this beer, I found the aroma to be quite lacking. There were some fruity notes, but it was mild, and there were strange malty notes as well, which don't really belong in an IPA. The carbonation is quite high, which again is a little unusual, and on the palate you'll be hit with a powerful bitterness, fruity flavours, hops and malts.

This is a decent beer, it's quite enjoyable. But the maltiness doesn't belong in an IPA. I found it a little off putting as I know it shouldn't be there. But overall it's still a pleasant brew and I'm happy to still have a couple of them sitting in the fridge.



The Beer Data

BeerTypeOriginABVRating
Ballast Point Sculpen IPAIPASan Diego, CA7.0%3.8

All ratings are out of 5





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptonbrews.xopus.io/2018/07/20/beer-and-blockchain-when-will-mass-adoption-happen/

Sort:  

I like what you are doing here. Beer and blockchain fit together well. Take a look at my channel @the4thmusketeer and follow me back if you like what I'm doing, thanks.

the idea of universities adopting crytocurrencies would be really nice someday. I might just get that degree I'm aiming at after all😀

It is exciting. I love the idea of having a formal qualification in something blockchain related.

Oh! Very lovely to read @mazzle. 5 yrs looks much for me and I can say we'll see this mass adoption in less than 3yrs.

So I was really pleased to see in the media yesterday an article about cryptocurrency courses now being offered at Russian Universities.

It wouldn't surprise me since it's Russia. I also read some time ago that there are online courses right up to Master's level.

Thanks for great article.

Welcome. :)

I'm OK with a 5 year timeframe, it will give me a chance to get very well established before everyone else is on board.

Yeah, you've got a point.

Yo dude. You're still dog-sitting! :-)) Sculpin in very popular in San Diego, as is Ballast Point. My current location is a high desert at 7,000 ft elevation. I've tried a couple of regional craft beers and a few odd ones from Stone. An odd thing here is none of these beers have any head on them when poured. Just wondering if the distance beer travels to your place effects the beer, as altitude may be effecting it here. I've heard IPA's are particularly susceptible. Just thinking..... Good to read your review mate. Cheers!

Yeah he's all good now so I can get back to normal life. I'd guess that elevation would have some type of effect on the head of a beer. Not so sure about distance travelled.

Glad he's good. I know, it's weird, but all IPAs and no heads. More research is required. :-)) Distance: meaning time of transport and varying conditions of heat and vibrations and such. So little time, so much research.

Yeah there are a lot of variables involved. Maybe that's why I prefer local beers to other stuff. :P

What is your dog name? Such a cutie!

But for cryptocurrencies to reach the mainstream and become part of our every day lives, we need to see them in all institutions and markets

That's very true. It may take us some time as blockchain and crypto are still developing quite fast and I see it as an infrastructure that is constantly being upgraded.

So we may have to wait before projects like GRAFT will come to the market.

A few days ago, I was able to escape the home briefly to grab some beer

Hahahaha you're cracking me up mate!

upvoted big time :) Yours, Piotr

His name is Frank.

It's amazing how fast this technology is developing. I'm actually really curious to see how it plays out in the gaming industry over the next couple of years. I think they'll be the ones to get on board with it the fastest.

I absolutely agree with you @mazzle

Do you know any icos/cryptos that are related to gaming industry? Im not much of a gamer so i dont hehe :)

Yours
Piotr

Hope the take up of cypto keeps improving every day.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

And I'm also sorry about your dog. Hope he gets back in shape soon

Thanks :)

He's getting better already. It's hard to keep him still at the moment.

Haha lovely post @mazzle
Cute dog you gat there, What is your dog's name and all this talk about beer makes me want to try one, haha as i have never tried one befor.

But for cryptocurrencies to reach the mainstream and become part of our every day lives, we need to see them in all institutions and markets.

Yes very true, companys like graft is working on getting cryptocurrency acceptance in market places and making it easy to use just like the debt and credit cards

I was amazed when i heard about the Russia university offeirng cours on cryptocurrency. That's a very big plus for the world atlarg.

Thanks again for the wonderful post @mazzle

Welcome mate. The lad’s name is Frank. :)

With mass adoption in mind, we need more projects that help people directly. Wemark, for example, will probably push all photographers to crypto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 69960.11
ETH 3514.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.85