TrisquelWhare's SteemMonsters Fan Art Workshop

I'm making a start on creating my "fan art workshop" for churning out fan art remixes for the #SteemMonsters community. I'm not an artist, and never really learned art at school except for the very basics that every child learns in the New Zealand public school system. I am a keen afficionado of the #freeculture and #CreativeCommons movement, however, and I love to remix images and release my remixes freely under the most permissive licenses available, preferably CC0 or up to CC BY-SA at the most restrictive.

To prepare for my remixing efforts, I have started collecting together some resources. Thanks to advice from @calumam, I made contact with @yabapmatt (one of the founders of SteemMonsters) and obtained access to the official SteemMonsters artwork assets. I also have started selecting some freeculture fonts from the DAFont library, including these two so far:

  • Monster Hunter by Iconian Fonts (font may be freely distributed and is free for all non-commercial uses).

  • Curse of the Zombie by imagex (font is free for personal use).

Using just these resources so far, I have created a bit of a logo for my new "fan art workshop" here, for SteemMonsters-related remixes. I created it (see below) using The GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program), which is an #opensource 2D raster image editing package that I use a lot. For 2D vector images, I use Inkscape, and for 3D images I use Blender, but I'm really not very good with Blender yet, so you probably won't see too many 3D images from my "fan art workshop". Anyway, without further ado, here is the first draft of my "fan art workshop" logo.

The flame effect on the text is taken from the flaming breath of the Gold Dragon, and the background is Rexxie's wide rump. It isn't perfect, and is still a work in progress, but it is a start anyway. I am really grateful to @calumam for the inspiration for all of this. He's been making some great fan-art for SteemMonsters, and if you're not already, I'd recommend you start following him too! I'm also very grateful to @yabapmatt for making the official SteemMonsters artwork available to the user community to play with. My thanks also to both Yaba and @aggroed for making this great game on the Steem blockchain.

I play SteemMonsters, a collectible card battle game on the Steem blockchain. You can see my stats and my collection using @blervin's SteemMonstersDB tool.

cc-by-sa license The textual content of this post is licensed as a Free Cultural Work using a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-SA 4.0) license, which grants all the four freedoms listed in the definition of free cultural works, including: ① The freedom to use and perform the work; ② The freedom to study the work and apply the information; ③ The freedom to redistribute copies; and ④ The freedom to distribute derivative works. This license places three key restrictions on those freedoms: ⑤ 𝐍𝐨 𝐃𝐑𝐌 𝐨𝐫 𝐓𝐏𝐌: You must not restrict access to the work using technical measures, or otherwise attempt to impose limitations on the freedoms above; ⑥ 𝐀𝐭𝐭𝐫𝐢𝐛𝐮𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧: You must give proper attribution to the author (𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮) and retain the license notice; and ⑦ 𝐂𝐨𝐩𝐲𝐥𝐞𝐟𝐭: You must release derivative works under an identical or similar license. The most recent copy of the text of this license notice (with markdown) can be found on Hackmd.
IMAGE CREDITS:
• The image used for the post thumbnail is a remix by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮. It includes the Steem Monsters Logo Refresh image created by @mrgodby, which is used with permission, and has been released under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) license. The remixed image is released under the same license (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) as the component part from @mrgodby, as per the ShareAlike terms.
• The image used for the horizontal rule separators throughout this post is from the #SteemMonsters divider set, created by @calumam. It is used with permission, and has been released under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license.
• The image used for the SteemMonsters banner is a remix by 𝓣𝓻𝓲𝓼𝓺𝓾𝓮𝓵𝓦𝓱𝓪𝓻𝓮. It includes the Steem Monsters Logo Refresh image created by @mrgodby, which is used with permission, and has been released under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) license. The remix also includes the "Rexxie" and "Goblin Socerer" assets from the official SteamMonsters collection. They are used with permission. The remixed image is released under the same license (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) as the component part from @mrgodby, as per the ShareAlike terms.

Sort:  
Loading...

Great stuff mate :) I'm glad to hear you got ahold of the images and now you're getting ready to put out some artwork for the community!

Great job pal. I'm always looking for anything red or fire inspired, of course. Keep it coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14