Steem Monsters! How I spent my SBD on Sterling Silver instead of booster packs.

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Steem Monsters. I love this project!

In real life I am the sort of person who goes to card shops and plays Magic The Gathering. Rather I have been that person. I enjoy opening packs and wondering what will drop in the next pack.



Alt
Source



Alt
Source



I have owned stacks of magic cards during over the past couple of decades, I confess I even owned a few Pokemon cards, although I never played the game nor traded them. I also had a huge collection of Garbage Pail Kid cards back in the day. I am a lifetime card collector, more accurately a lifetime card consumer. I seem to buy them, then let them go.

Steem Monsters is the latest in my card buying habit. Despite the fact that I don’t have a huge account, I still dropped most of my SBD and Steem on packs of cards in the last two days. I feel good about these purchases. I wish I better understood the game system I am buying into. It’s odd not knowing how the cards will be used or which ones I need to hold onto. Ah well. Alpha testing a cryptocard game is such a unique experience I guess I will just roll with it.



Alt
Source



I wanted to buy in the first day I heard of Steem Monsters, but just couldn’t bring myself to drop my hard earned SBD on cryptocards. I had been planning on using my earnings to buy sterling silver. Which I did! I bought six ounces of silver wire, along with other silver findings from a jewelry supply catalog. I also bought a membership to the local hand crafters market. I took cryptocurrency earned on the Steem blockchain and created the foundation of a jewelry business in the real world. It remains to be seen if the investment in the real world will be worth more than if I had spent that two hundred fifty bucks on Steem Monsters instead.

Cashing out the crypto cost quite a few SBD along the way, and I still have to do the value added work to make the jewelry. But I have a feeling it was the right choice. I like to imagine that there is an alternate universe Tawasi who spent all of his SBD on Steem monsters and is now flipping crypto cards for a living.




Thanks for reading this far!

If you enjoyed this post you may like one of the other blogs I have written.
You can find them here, or here, or here.




I am a member of these Discord channels which support community and connections on Steemit.
PALnet
SteemUSA
Steem Star Network



enter image description here



enter image description here



Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

I bought too many booster packs myself already with SBD! I never played Magic but I'm excited about this game.. I think it will be fun! ♥ You should follow my friend @carrieallen she's been giving away on her live streams every week! And she's hilarious. ♥

😂 All of what she says is true. 😎

We bought some silver Steemit rounds ( the new batch) with SBD....they should be here soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86