Steem Monsters: Deck Building #3 - Daily Quests - "Rising Dead"

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

Questing With Death

Here we go, finally I get to quest with my favorite Splinter: Death! Welcome to the third edition of my Steem Monsters deck building series :) Currently I'm going over the daily quests we receive, and, how to approach them to win! Today we start with the Rising Dead quest.

death quest.png

Building The Deck

1. Review The Rules

First thing to do before building a deck is to check the Rules and Mana Cap.

rulescap.png

Since Melee Monsters can attack from any position today, we don't have to worry about picking the perfect Sniper. We also have a decently sized mana cap so we won't be hurt trying to pick a team of only 2-3 Monsters to battle with (this can be brutal when it happens!)

2. Choose a Summoner

image.png

I have two Death Summoners, Zintar & Jarlax. Zintar costs 1 mana more however he gives enemy monsters -1 Melee attack (perfect for today's rule modifications as most people will probably be using melee!

3. Review Your Death Monsters

image.png

Don't forget to check and see what your Gold cards are!
image.png

I don't have all the Death Monster cards, however, the ones I do have are decently upgraded. Already I'm thinking my Level 6 Haunted Spirit as a tank. He reflects magic damage (not melee) but his high level, 9 health, & healing ability still makes him a formidable choice. The Spineback Wolf is an option because of his armor (mostly found in the Life Splinter.) Since there will probably be a lot of melee attacks today, the armor will add an extra source of protection (over other types of attacks.)

4. Review Your Neutral Monsters

These guys matter too!

image.png

With a rule-set today in which melee monsters can attack from any position, this can make either the Raging Impaler or the Hydra very powerful cards.

5. Make AT LEAST 2 Lineups

No lineup will be perfect, but you may notice that one might perform better over time than another, so it's good to at least play with two different ones when questing.

Here's the lineup that performed the best when completing this quest:

image.png

Summoner: Zintar Moartalis Level 6
Position 1: Haunted Spirit Level 6 (Tanks, Reflects Magic Damage, Heals)
Position 2: Skeleton Assassin Level 7 (Already has the Sneak ability but that Poison is useful.)
Position 3: Dark Enchantress Level 5 (She deals Magic damage, but her Stun ability is great & Flying has a chance to dodge Melee)
Position 4: Undead Priest Level 6 (I can't play Death without this guy, he Weakens & Slows all enemies. Very powerful!)

The Death Deck may not be the most ideal choice for the Super Sneak Rules today, however, we're dealing with the Death quest! I like this lineup because of the LARGE combination of negative attributes we're hitting our opponent with. We've got Reflect, Poison, Stun, Weaken, Slow, and -1 Melee. We're good to go!

Here's how many consecutive matches I won with this build:

image.png

Only needed 10 for the quest, came out with 17!

How Did You Death Quest?

Let me know what decisions you made in the comments below. And, if you have any feedback on my build, please let me know!! Thanks for reading :)

Other Posts by Steve Cronin

  1. Steem Monsters: Deck Building #2 - Daily Quests - "Stir The Volcano!"
  2. Steem Monsters: Deck Building #1 - Daily Quests - "Defend The Borders!"
  3. How to Climb the Leaderboards in Steem Monsters: Season 2
  4. Steem Monsters - I finally have some Dragons (And how YOU can get some!)
Sort:  

Your outstanding gaming content has caught our eyes and is rewarded with an upvote. Please visit our page @steemgg to learn more about Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem Blockchain.

Very nice deck, im using a very similar deck with good results. Diferent because have more mana at this time.

Another great one! Looks like you have set into a regular groove with these. I have an idea for a new series titled "Blockchain Gaming News". Here is the comment I made on @vlemon's recent post about blockchain gaming, which gives the general idea of my series proposal :

https://steemit.com/steemit/@vlemon/blockchain-video-games-are-getting-better-than-ever

Hi. News starts rolling in FAST on these evolving topics, and so I suggest you/we/I start doing preliminary research on this series concept. I will have a look this week for what regular info is being posted on this topic, and I am thinking that @stevecronin may be willing and able to do screencasts of his SteemMonsters game play. I will reach out to him and see what he thinks. That would be FOUR articles related to the topic, and one screencast video at the end. I think this would have some serious traction...Let me know your thoughts...

Steve, do you think you could produce ONE WEEKLY screencast of your SteemMonsters gameplay - as a Steemit post with BOTH Dtube and YouTube versions? Or, you can just describe the battle and link to the specific battle link page so people can watch it. Or BOTH of these would be most ideal (the battle link below the screencast - example below). Let me know if this is something that you can do, and I can potentially run the MAIN series posts, and plug your screencasts into the weekly posts. Let me know your thoughts here or on Steemit Chat...

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@jeffjagoe/my-first-steem-monsters-battle-victory-vs-fullcoverbettin-35d45aec6c02est#@jeffjagoe/re-transcript-junky-re-jeffjagoe-my-first-steem-monsters-battle-victory-vs-fullcoverbettin-35d45aec6c02est-20181121t123850648z

@transcript-junky

Yo Steve! I FINALLY crossed the threshold! After weeks of not being able to feel confident enouh at the game I went ahead and bought a JUICY "Lord Of Darkness" card from @daan on the market, and spent the last day totally CLEANING SHOP with him and haunted spirit. So I am now "in the game". I think it is VITAL for newbies to go ahead and purchase a/some power-cards for the sake of having enough power to start PLAYING and WINNING, so that they can then follow all of the JUICY posts (related to the game) with a more practical, experiental understanding of the game. I am now much more motivated to read through ALL of your recent posts related to the game. Keep it up, man! This is FUN, FUN, FUN!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16