SteemMonsters: How useful are the new summoners?

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

SteemMonsters has recently introduced the Beta phase, in which 5 new summoners (as well as 10 new neutral cards) have been added to the game. There are now 11 summoners in total: 1 dragon summoner and 2 for each other element.

As you may know, summoners are needed for any battle, since without it, you can't spawn the monsters that will fight for you. Summoners can only summon monsters from their own splinters and neutral monsters. Selenia Sky, the dragon summoner, is the only exception: He/She/It can spawn dragons, but also monsters of exactly 1 other splinter and neutral monsters.

The original summoners all cost 3 mana and gave their team certain buffs: Malric Inferno gives the Fire Splinter extra Melee Damage & Speed, Tyrus Paladium gives its monsters more Shield, Zintar Mortalis lowers the speed & melee attack of the enemy team and so on...

However, that's where the new summoners differ a lot: They cost only 2 mana, but give no extra buffs! They function exactly the same as the old summoners, but cost 1 mana less & give no buffs like more shield/attack/speed.

Now it's interesting to start theorizing about when this could be an advantage... And I can't think of any realistic situation... The buffs of the 3-mana summoners are great aids to your success. For 1 mana, you may be able to get a monster that's a bit stronger than a monster that costs 1 man less, but you sacrifice a lot for that if you don't give your team a summoner's buff anymore!

I'm definitely sticking to the original summoners... What are your thoughts about it? Do you think they can be useful in certain ways? Tell us in the comments!


Join my SteemMonsters/SBI giveaway here, if you haven't done so yet: https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@pizzachain/steemmonsters-giveaway-sbi-shares-steemmonsters-cards-and-cheap-booster-packs


Sort:  

I've seen today a battle with the betas green summoner, it was Yabapmatt against Clove, and the team seems really strong, with a configuration that you couldn't do with Lyanna.

The team it's like this:

Stone golem(5)

Spirit of the forest(7) Swamp thing (3) Enchanted pixie(3)

You could do a similar team with Lyanna and the Minotaur warrior as tank, but idk if it's so effective as this. Yabapmatt managed to win an excellent team with Zintar as summoner, which is imo the strongest team by now.

That's an interesting set-up indeed... A lot of abilities working together there and I'm actually not sure how it would do if you replaced the Stone Golem with a Minotaur and took Lyanna instead of Foxwood.

All of them would get +1 health and the attacker would still do roughly the same damage, with pierce this time.

It is a use-case indeed, but it's still debatable as to whether it actually works better than a Lyanna set-up... I suppose we'll have to wait & test it soon :P

I think that the Beta summoners have some use depending on what the team strategy/synergy. Like it could definitely be a big upgrade in a Water team that has no magic attack monsters. Most of the buffs are good enough to add the extra mana though.

The one thing I don't agree with is the Epic rarity it added to a summoner. I would think the Alpha summoners were more epic with their abilities and that the 1 mana less without ability wouldn't warrant the upgrade in rarity.

Only time will tell if these summoners are great though.

Well, they might have some use in very rare team set-ups, but I am yet to see an example of where it would be a good thing to replace the buff with 1 mana point. I suppose we'll have to wait, as you said :/

I agree on that, yeah. The buff summoners are way more epic, but I suppose they were "rare" since the start and making the new ones common wasn't really interesting either. Making them rare would be annoying since we already had the original rare summoners, so epic would be the only choice (legendary would be slightly high for some non-buff summies). I understand their reasoning, but I'm also kinda unsure on whether we should call these "epic".

Nice post,well the beta summoner also have their own uses also but that depends on the team strategy.
I've just upvoted and followed you kindly do that to all my recent posts @amonolu,thanks.

Sure it depends on the team strategy, but I haven't seen a good example of the 2-mana summoners being better than the 3-mana summoners, whilst the contrary is almost always true.

I'm terrible about checking discord so I'll put my offer here too- I can give you 30 steem for the ten packs :) I have a 110 coming but I don't know when and patience isn't my strong suit, lol.

Well, alright. 30 STEEM for 10 Alpha Packs. If you still want it, please send 10 STEEM to me & I'll send 10 alpha packs to you.

Gonna be asleep in about 3 hours & waking up 8 hours later, so if you send then, it'll take some time for the alphas to arrive. If you still want it ^

Hey there- sure, sending it now. 30 steem you mean not 10 right? lol

Oh, yes. 30 STEEM :P

For a second I thought I was a helluva negotiator, hee. Are you saying a long goodbye?

Yes: a long goodbye?

Sorry, I was attempting to prompt you to send them without coming off rude like 'Gimme! ' ;0) Pleasure doing business :0)

Ay :P

Ty too :)

Hey pizzachain! Do you ever play hearthstone? It's been a while, glad you are still here!

I played it a couple years ago. Not actively though, only played a couple games :P

Lol. It's unfortunately a pay-to-play, but at least it's a good one.

Yea mean SteemMonsters? Heartstone was free, last time I checked it.

But yeah, it's pay to play. Low price for that, however, and there are a ton of giveaways you can participate in to get cards witout paying anything

Is there a discord for steemmonsters? I'll join. Don't know if I will get into the game because I need to focus on studying and I already play enough games. Try out the crossword I made. You used to kill all of my old contests.

Crosswords aren't really my thing :P

I tried entering on your new crossword puzzle, but I didn't get further than this:

And there's probably also mistakes in that one :P

I'm hoping to think of some nice contests so I can host some more too... I hope to think of some original ones, but that's so hard nowadays... Almost everything is thought of already :P

Not bad. You did make me realize a mistake. Haha. "6 Across" is missing and the hint should be:

(6 Across) A sham or buffoonery

Fixed it on the post. I'll give it to you if no one else does it when I post the solution and the next one.

Also, had to fix the 14 down hint.

(14 Down) A lot of (more than one) pairs

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Bad bot. You shouldn't respond just on some topics, but on ALL my topics!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43