Steem Monsters (Splinterlands) rental market through peakmonsters.com

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

So, I think I'm making a few hundred dollars every month through the cards that I'm renting. It makes me pick up more too as I'm mostly just looping the rental payments back into new cards. I thought it would be good to talk to people about the benefits of renting cards.

The Main Problem Time & Money

Often what I've seen is that some people have time, some people have money, and rarely do people have time and money. So, it's great to be able to separate the two. Now players can have money, setup automatic rentals, and spend that money on whatever they'd like later or players without money can now get some key cards they need to make a decent rank. @jacekw showed this was possible by spending approximately $12 to get 30th on the leaderboard. So, I know people say and they are right that owning your own deck is a massive barrier to entry in this game, but it turns out renting yourself a sweet deck is pretty affordable.

The benefit

To card hodlers: Passive income!!! Own cards, own crypto assets, they have limited supply, they constantly get eaten for better rewards, they also completely vanish and turn into DEC. So, price stay relatively flat while there's new packs to be purchased, but once those packs are gone prices don't have any upper limit anymore.

To players: Play high level for cheap! That's right for limited cash outlay you can actually make some decent money. You can make $4-6 bucks a day at high level to recoup the lend, you can get rewards cards every day, you can earn season cards every 2 weeks, you can get on the leaderboard, and you can win tournaments. There's a lot of ways to earn here and if you pick some good cards then it's easy to see how you'll earn to play rather than spend to play.

How do I rent?

The ability to delegate cards is built into the code of the main game, but it isn't part of the user interface. So, if you want to rent you're gonna have to do it through private lending, which is a lot to manage or work with peakmonsters.com, which has been an awesome partner from the start.

Go to peakmonsters.com

If you're looking to rent you'll click market.

If you're looking to loan out you'll click on my collection, select a card, and click the rent button.

Once you have picked your card and hit rent you'll get some options.

I think having an escrow worth 7 days of rental income is important so people don't randomly break your contract without consequences. I think 90 days is a good rental period. If prices keep rising I want to make sure that I can adjust my rentals and I don't want ot have to wait every 6 months.

Deposit and withdraw

You can add and remove steem from their credit system by clicking the buttons highlighted above. If you're a renter make sure to keep enough credit on hand to pay for your rentals or the contracts will be broken.

Rental Income

If you want to see how things are going click on your profile and then click under rental contracts. You'll see what contracts are active and how they are earning.

My rentals

I have an account called smalp (steem monsters asset leasing program) which buys a lot of cards and rents them out. I have gold, alphas, alpha golds, betas rewards, and promos. Literally I'm running the whole gambit and renting them out to players. Please check them out. I have a lot of the high level 2 mana summoners for rent. A bunch of high level alpha cards too. I have a lot of alpha golds too. Please check out muh wares and see if you can find some good cards to fit into your game!

Sort:  

I recently tried the rental market and loving it as I got all the cards I needed easily and it is making me farm more DEC now. I couldn't make heads or tails of how it works before. A very well explained post for the newbies to get a hang of it. Anyone can rent any card of their choice at a nominal cost. I regret of selling so many of my Gold cards as I didn't know of this feature of renting. A nice passive income for hoddling your cards. Splinterlands is a Gem place to be.

I've just added post describing my second SteemMonsters Speedrun (at the last day of previous season):

Summary:

  • I hit top50 with only 90 battles played (starting from 3400 points)
  • only two splinters rented: Earth + Fire
  • cost of rental contracts: $14, value of rewards: $29.5, balance +$15.5
  • only 3 hours of playing (could be 2 if I wasn't multitasking haha)

Being able to rent my cards has brightened my out look about steemmonsters. Super cool. Thanks for sharing @aggroed.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have actually rented a whole bunch of cards from @smalp. I just didn't know you owned it. It is good to finally know. Last season I was able to get into Diamond 3 thanks to renting. I even created a tutorial about renting.

One of the problems I did experience though was with how the prices were quoted in Dollars. You never really have a good sense of how much you are actually spending with Steem or SBD. I hope the peakmonsters team can add that functionality that sums up you rental contracts pending payments in Steem and SBD also.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great testimonial!

We can and will add some more details/info for Renter/Owners ... this is just the early almost beta product.
There's more cool things we can do.

You guys rock!! 😎😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings, grand aggroed

Excelent tip. Thank you for share with us!

I'm around $2.50/day so far; and its the first thing I check when I open the computer. Finding undervalued cards to snap up and lease out; it's a whole different way to play the game.

@Aggroed... Well Written Post covering all the important aspects/variables.

SteemMonsters is becoming the Success we were all hoping for !!

Cheers !!

I haven't been able to get anyone to be interested in my cards. Sadly it appears that the majority of people only want to lease cards that have been leveled up. This makes it hard for lower level people to see any kind of return on this. Maybe I am just not doing it right...

Why not focus on leveling up legendaries instead? You will likely see more interest for them. What level are your cards?

Is the ROI really there for that though? I have already invested quite a bit more than I would have expected into the game. I am looking for something that can generate revenue right now without having to spend more. It is something I will consider though.

Legendaries have a good return especially if you include a good escrow amount. Just make sure it is competitive. You don't want to price yourself out of the market. Otherwise delegate some SP to Steemmonsters for DEC. 1000 DEC is $1 passive.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have already delegated some SP to SM thanks! I am going to have to dig into this a little more. I appreciate your feedback.

You are welcome. All the best.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a really interesting concept. I've just started playing Steem Monsters and while I don't have a budget to put more money into the game I'll have to see when it's going to be viable to potentially rent a few cards.

If cards are rented can those cards be combined for the rental period or are they locked in at that rental level ? If locked it would make sense to almost have two fully dished out decks ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84