Is it Tuesday already? @steemmonsters addiction!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Just 48 hours or so have passed since @steemmonsters went live with Battles. I didn't think the game would be so addictive, but it is!

monster1.png

Well I had to start with that image - @therealwolf won the rematch but I forgot to screenshot that battle 😛

The game began in earnest on Sunday evening, and I've spent most of the waking hours, and some of those I should have been asleep for, messing around with my cards and fighting battles. The amount of regular usernames I've seen is great, so many of the people I interact with here are also involved.

Isn't that right @davemccoy? What are we on now? 3-0 in my favor? 💪 Dave has seemingly had trouble with the light reflecting off these teams:

2.png

I'm pretty sure that now I've called him out, he's heading to @peakmonsters to buy a raft or cards to take me down. They are being snapped up pretty quick though, as understanding of the game increases, and people prepare for the tournaments.


The cards I bought prior to the game beginning were heavily focused towards 'fire', and I also got really lucky with a gold Chromatic Dragon beta during this time. There are only 3 of these cards in the game at present, and @broncnutz wants $4000 for his!

image.png

And so with numerous 'fire' gold cards, and a super-dooper dragon, I've been trying to level up these cards, along with Selenia Sky who is the only legendary/dragon summoner. She also 'buffs' (I heard @aggroed call it that so it must be the term to use) the 'range' attacks, which has made me go buy about 70 Centaur 'normals'.

My wallet looks like it's full of holes, and anyone checking up on me via Steemworld or Steemd could well be confused by the 100's of transactions relating to the game, that have gone through in the last couple of days. I suspect that @steemmonsters has buffed up these totals quite nicely, and once a week or so has passed then a quick look at daily transaction totals could be interesting.

I'm currently ranked 62 on the leader board, and I have no idea if that is any good or not. Hopefully it's a sign that my cards are good enough to win back some of the STEEM I've invested on cards during tournaments, which are due to start soon. This could claw back a bit of $, but I should also be concerned about the amount of time I've spent playing thus far.

If assessed, which is unlikely to happen, I suspect I'd be classified as someone with an addictive personality (disorder). I've had issues in the past with all of the example forms of addictive behavior listed on related wiki - Gambling, Eating disorders, Compulsive buying, Cell phone use, Internet and computer use, Tanning, and Exercise.

The first 4 (unless we are talking @steemmonsters cards!), I'm good with. It's the 'Internet and computer use', and the lack of exercise because of this, which I have to try to balance a bit better. And I think my tan will have worn off come Steemfest 3 😊

Anyway, not to worry, I have more battles to take part in, and then it's off to work at the Bar.

If you have 500 - 4999 SP, and want the chance to win some card packs, you could join the Minnow Power-up League hosted by @steemcommunity, and sponsored by @yabapmatt - The creator of @steemmonsters, here: https://steemit.com/community/@steemcommunity/the-minnow-power-up-league-week-4


Thanks for reading today, I'll be back with some 'standard' material soon.

Cheers!

Asher

Sort:  

Man do I know what you're feeling!! I have screwed up my entire sleeping schedule out of sheer addiction for the game! It's a pleasant (or maybe unpleasant 🤣) surprise that it's so addicting to climb the ranked ladder - reminds me of my Starcraft 2 days lol.

I'm at rank #23 right now with 260 battles played. I may have a problem... It's all good fun though, I'm not complaining.

Can't wait for these tournaments to start and it says that the next conflict begins in 6 hours which I believe means that we're going to see a change in the rules such as mana cap, splinters, etc. Will be interesting to see what happens with that!! You can bet the farm that I'll be on in exactly 6 hours to find out!!

I think I may have played against you a few times. Good games my friend ;)

p.s. my wallet understands your wallets pain

Nice to hear from someone else with the SM addiction!

Can't wait for these tournaments to start and it says that the next conflict begins in 6 hours which I believe means that we're going to see a change in the rules such as mana cap, splinters, etc.

For sure! And yes, the mana cap is now 17 and I'm having trouble finding the right team. I went big on golds, but i'm getting beaten by many teams without a gold....

I'm not buying any more cards for a while now, I think!

Good luck!

It has been great for me as well! Battling with well known members of the community and places where I post plenty of comments too! I too have been tempted to buy more cards but still waiting for my kickstarter packs first! The market is definitely hot!

Told myself no more buying, but still couldn't resist a few more today!

Is there a site/tool to check on buying/selling stats?

@peakmonsters is the best one in my opinion that I have seen. They also allow you to buy in bulk. I am holding still... but it is tough to not go and buy more!

You really fooled me. I thought you had little interest in SM, but when i checked the leaderboard not so long after the battles begun, I noticed your name in the top part. 15 out of 20 cbattles won.

I really need go get myself some more cards, because except for the water splinter, I don't have the cards to set up a good team.

I'm also still struggling with the strategical part of the game - I don't have any experience in tbese kinds of games, so I don't really have a clue what I'm doing, lol.

But I keep playing, hoping that my brain will pick it up some time soon :0)

I'm much lower down now :(

I was buying a few packs from the start, and have gone a bit mad the last few days. Waiting for the all gold battles, if they come which I think they might.

Strategy... try, and try again!

I was playing with level 3 and 4 summoners, but I'm having such a hard time wrapping my head around the game. So Dave sent me back to steemmonsters kindergarden. First, I sent all leveled up cards to my alt account, so I could start playing at level one and learn step by step. Unfortunately, the system didn't realize I ldveled down and kept setting me up against level 4 teams.
So I had to send one card of each to the newbiegames account, so I could get level 1 opponents. Believe me, I've had my share of gifting cards. Earlier today I could finally start playing in the kiddy pool.

It's a bit frustrating that I have such difficulties getting it all - I'm not used to being a slow learner, lol.
But there are so many rules and exceptions that my head starts buzzing.

I'm going to try to play whenever I can because that's the only way I might get it all one day. Give me a year or two, and I'll beat you :0)

Go get-em @abh12345! I'll have to cheer for both you and Dave though, for both to do some damage to others on the battlefield.

I'm playing along with smaller level cards until I get a better understanding. So far it's a toss-up between win/lose. Hehe. My hours for battling are sneaked in at night when I should be sleeping or during a long conference call. Very nice distraction indeed. :)

What better way to pass the time during a conference call than by battling on SM :D

Since the mana has changed to 17, I've not been doing well at all!

I have been really happy with the game so far. It is hard during the day when not a lot of people are on because you pretty much find yourself playing the same people over and over again. It is still a great time and something I will be doing for the foreseeable future!

Yes I am too, and have also found i'm playing people 500 higher in level!

See you on the battlefield D

That is crazy! I was getting my butt handed to me then I started to watch the hands that I was really weak against and I adjusted. I think the tiers normalizing helped too 😁

hahaha... yes my mind is working overtime on how I can beat that shiny "bling" you put up there against me! :)

I'm glad to see you are getting into this Asher, its going to be tons of fun. I'm looking forward to your match with @therealwolf in the big games! Also @fulltimegeek and @haejin out to be a fun one too! (I think this can actually bring people together!)

You have solved the puzzle with 2 dragons! :D

It's great when you get a friend match-up, and just as good to beat someone you may not have always agreed with here.

Still addicted, but struggling with the 17 mana cap now!

lol... yes it works well for both :P

And yes I haven't figured the 17 mana cap myself... I see lots of teams doing decent, but I can't make them with my deck... so I have to keep trying ;)

Lol, I've been playing a little but you might just be a bit more addicted than I thought I was! Lol

I've not matched up against you yet boom, are you up in the clouds with level 1500 or something?!

Nah! Lol, I am pure shit. Ranked at 374 or something. No idea how to play and just keep banging on wondering how I am getting yanked all the time!

Took a little while for me to get the basics, now I just want to buy buy buy all the time! Hopefully they will start paying returns or else it's going to look like money not well spent!

Yeah I leveled up a few myself and was like dang, what am I doing!!

Nice 1 I just asked to join the minnow power up league as I hit 500 sp this morning.

Good stuff, I think the post will be out tomorrow - hopefully @paulag has been logging all the new entrants :D

I added the account to following, so wait with baited breath. :-)

I haven't tried this yet.. always two days behind 😢 gotta see how things going on and get involved 😂 still.. I need to keep on the engagement first. Enjoy your battle

I'm glad to hear someone focusing on engagement here because since Sunday I have been awful!

I need to work out a way to point score @steemonsters battles into the league! :P :P :P

O my God... No... I need a summoner to start.. LOL, I hope that more people on the league would get busy with the monsters so I can be on the top ten next week.. hahahaha, I have enough steem to buy a pack but.. I concentrate on powering up rather than buying the cards now. .. Please, don;t do that,, but a bar with steemmonsters things would be great to ocomment on.. LOL

Yes. It is very additive. I am playing again and again. I think I should try to get 500 SP to get some packs.

Do you get 'some packs' at 500? Or did i misunderstand? Any links are welcome :D

Sorry I mean 500 SP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98