My #Steemit origins story

in #steemleo4 years ago (edited)

What was the moment...

You realized you were going to make a pretty big impact?

Is there one defining moment for you?

I remember it vividly...

I was in the gym by the barbell rack...

Before this day I had a slight idea of what I wanted to do…

but it wasn’t til this day that I felt what I knew I had to do, on a deep, emotional level strong enough to make my stomach turn.

I was right in the middle of a heavy set of barbell curls…

Six… seven…. eight….

I’m dripping with sweat, in love with the pain, but I’m looking around the gym to distract myself from the lactic acid buildup…

Imagine what you’re NOT seeing, is a gym full of happy and satisfied faces, not people who are “living the life” they truly want for themselves…

You know the type. People who are on “survive” and nowhere close to “thrive” mode.

You see people settling,
just getting through it…

making through the motions… hopelessly uninspired…

Turned off… Plugged out.

It’s not their fault. We live in a society that praises “mediocrity”.

Live a normal life… get a normal paying job… then marry with kids… isn’t it?

It hit me like a train and I felt a wave of nausea hit my stomach.

I realized that these were good people - just like you & I…

who never had the opportunity for more…

who have never been told that there IS a world out their where you can GROW, improve, succeed and become the greatest version of yourself. ( That is Steem Social media comunity)

Fortunately you have found it, I’ve found it, but too many people haven’t yet.

In this fleeting moment, I was filled with disgust and anger with the world, for letting this happen, and at myself because I knew I could do more about it…

I had the EPIPHANIC realization of what I wanted to spend my life doing. I knew in that moment, my purpose was to transform people, getting them more happiness, freedom and impact from their lives.

That night - I finish my set of curls and walk home. I get out the laptop, and continue to work in #steemitcommunity, what is known as today, the “More Life Movement.”

Now that didn’t happen overnight.

It required grit, struggle & sacrifice…
(plus 2 years of failure.)

Eventually I smartened up, and invested in myself ( stared work in #steemit again)

That vision has never left me and it’s only grown clearer and larger since.

THIS... is my motivation.

My hustle.

The story I just shared with you is the one of the defining moments that shaped my mission
20191009_152325.jpg
Now my question for you is:
What’s your origins story?

Share it below and it may inspire someone else! 👇

Sort:  

Congratulations @shuja! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86