What?? I've Been Here For Over A Year??? Ulog #15

in #steemiversary6 years ago (edited)

Hi! How are the beautiful people of Steemit?

Today I found out when my Steemit start date was. Thanks to @thekitchenfairy and @thekittygirl for helping me get this info! I always used steemnow to check the basic stuff I wanted to know, not steemd or steemworld.

IMG_2018-08-19_19-41-08.77.jpeg

Wow! A whole year! So why am I not smiling?

Well 5 reasons really

1. I missed my true Steemiversary.

2. I don't have any champagne to celebrate.

3. I don't have any wine to celebrate.

4. I don't have any beer to celebrate.

5. I don't have any money to buy champagne, wine, or beer to celebrate.

Ok, these are first world problems....

download (2).jpeg

Wait a minute! I didn't start posting until the end of September! See?

C360_2017-09-30-00-24-06-621.jpg
My Introduction Post

So did my anniversary even count??

Technically it's been over a year...

Hmm....what to do, what to do...

I'm here, you're here...

Let's do this milestone post!!!!!

I first heard about Steemit when @allforthegood and @bluerthangreen visited us one day. They told me what Steemit was all about and I got excited and thought to myself I can do that! They told me of the amazing success of @papa-pepper. Someone I went to high school with, someone who dated my best friend at one time, someone who was born again around the same time as my husband, and we continued to be friends until he and his family moved to Arkansas. I just had to look into this Steemit thing, and when I started posting, I was hooked!

How did you first hear about Steemit?

Do you ever look back over your time as a newbie and laugh over some of the mistakes you made? One mistake I made was when I threw my first contest. I didn't yet know what everything meant in my wallet, but I received my first payout over $10. I thought I could give both sbd and SP away, so three posts I deemed meaningful were to be awarded .5 sbd and .5 SP! 😂😂😂 4 people entered and nobody told me of my error! When it was time to award the winners I went to my wallet to pay them and was soooo embarrassed!

I also have a confession....I still don't know how to center anything using markdown. 😮

What was a newbie mistake you made?

There have been many moments - good and bad - that I will always remember...here are a few:

When I made $160 on a post - no bidbots

When I was accepted into @thealliance

When I misunderstood @ironshield and called him a bad name

Just recently, the amazing generosity of Steemit witness @c0ff33a, who delegated the SP needed to get my slider back

When I was muted (and then later unmuted) by valorforfreedom

Some of the amazing people I met who I appreciate so much! - no extensive tagging lists this time - you know who you are!

The righteous crusade against grumpycat, and when he gave a huge upvote to a post I bashed him in.

29w42o.jpg

The support and kindness of @familyprotection and others during one of my greatest trials

Over 200 people participating in the love it/shove it challenge I thought up, and trying to comment on each one

What are some of your most memorable times here?

Though it's been a year, I'm no perfect Steemian. Far from it. Looking at my own behavior I need to work on two main things - consistency and networking. I take breaks, I just shut down and have no interest in Steemit. Yes I always come back, but still...and networking...it does not come naturally. I can't fake it till I make it as they say and write out a comment or response to just anything. Speaking of comments - if you're reading this and I haven't responded to one of your recent comments, I will be answering them soon. :)

What are some of the things you could work on?

I've changed in a few ways as well

I used to use bidbots, but an article from the witness @krnel changed my mind, and I caught a different vision for what Steemit is supposed to be.

I used to use resteeming services, but they don't work and they sucked my account dry.

I used to post links in my comments if I felt the subject matter pertained to what the other person's post was about. Now I know better lol

I used to follow everyone who followed me - warning - bad idea!

How have you changed since you started?

This sums up my 1 year milestone post. Here's a toast to the year ahead! lifts up imaginary champagne glass Cheers!

Love, snowpea ❤

thealliance_ladies_3.png

Sort:  

Congrats! You sat on your account for over a month before using it, LOL!

I'm glad that your time here has been a blessing!

Yes, then one night I just decided to make my 1st post. Almost 2 months later. 😂 Thanks for stopping by!

Nice job my Lady. I know you have really meant a lot to a lot of people and I totally appreciate your Contributions. Steem on :)

Thanks @robertandrew! Your kind words mean a lot to me.

One year goes by fast, doesn't it. I like your memorable times list, I can't imagine any other social media or blogging site that would invoke actual nostalgia after one year.... except Steemit. @ironshield

No, I can't imagine FB ever evoking such feelings haha! That's the beauty of Steemit... :)

Congrats @snowpea! What a year it was huh?!

It has been very interesting lol!

Damn, not sure how I missed this (well I do, lots of drama in my life since last weekend) but glad I caught it.

Congrats

I can't imagine how much influence you have had here on others, with your open sincerity and sharing. Here is to another year whose success will dwarf your first.

Thank you so much @practicalthought! Drama can be so draining. Hopefully it was nothing too serious.

Thanks. Has been draining for sure, but at some point if one keeps plodding ahead with faith there will be light :)

haha! howdy there from Texas snowpea! hey I sat on my account for 2 months before I started posting. I didn't know you knew the great papa-pepper before steemit, very interesting.

Hey I'm in the Alliance playground right now, so good to see that you are in also. great job on this post, very fun!

Thank you @janton! I knew you'd make it in - especially with that engagement record of yours!

thank you so much snowpea, I keep wanting to call you sweetpea because you seem so sweet! I do love to get to know people. are you in the Alliance discord much? It sounds weird but this "engager" doesn't know what to say in there! lol.

I pop in here and there. Not too much right now because I'm busy getting everything ready for my kids going to school. But I'm with you, not the best in chat rooms, better in comments on Steemit lol.

yes Ma'am me too, it is more personal on comments.

Your kids are going to public school? and how old are they?

They were homeschooled, but I'm taking the painful leap back into public school. They are 3,6,7,9, and 10

howdy again snowpea! oh my gosh I have no idea how you have any time to even be on steemit! wow. what a blessing though.
why the public school?

Mostly because of a CPS scare @janton...

Congrats on a year on steemit :D It's quite a journey isn't it? I am looking forward already to your '2 years on steemit' post ;)

Thanks @fiftysixnorth! Hopefully I'll make it that long lol! I'm sure I'll still be here though.;)

You never know! But I hope you will be, I hope we will ALL still be here :)

CONGRATULATIONS!!! I think I remember when you first started posting!

Well, I'm not sure if this is markdown or html, but I center by using this code:

<center (and use the other arrow bracket to close, but if I do that it'll disappear)

And then </center (other arrow bracket to close) to end the centering.

I wish I knew how to write it out properly without it acting like code, but there it is.

You called Ben a bad name? Yikes, you must've really misunderstood him all right! I'm still chuckling over that one.

Thank you @lturner! And now I know how to center! Yeah, he responded to one of my comments with a gif and I took it as if it was directed at me. Lol - now I know he's not mean at all. 😂

🤣

I didnt make any special posting on my anniv. 😁

Happy Steemit Birthday 🎂

And you are welcome 🤗

Thank you! Congrats to you as well, even tbough you didn't celebrate. :)

Happy Steemit Anniversary! I liked your list! of memories ;0)

Thanks @lymepoet! So glad you stopped by! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87