How Steemit has Changed My Life: Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks – Week #7

As an artist and writer, Steemit is a delight. As a mother, isolated out in the country, Steemit has become my community. From a human perspective, Steemit gives me hope for the world.

I’ll expand on these ideas, but first, let me tell you how this post came about. Someone in the #steemsugars discord was kind enough to share this contest by @dobartim for people to write about how Steemit communication positively influences their lives.

Reading some of the entries that have been chosen thus far, I’m happy to see winners chosen from regions of the world where Steem can go a long way. This is another example of how Steemit gives me hope for the world.

I love seeing people helping each other. THIS is why I love Steemit.

hope
photo: Elvis Ma


Steemit gives me a chance to contribute.


If I am chosen as a winner for this contest, I will send 30% of the total reward to charity: 15% to @youarehope, which uses Steem to empower people in impoverished situations, and 15% to @rhondak, who runs @TARC, giving homeless animals a new chance at life. I would like to donate more than this, but I have a delegation ending soon and need to power up to support my greater community as well!

Steemit gives me an opportunity to contribute to causes like these. It encourages people to help each other, to be good to each other, incentivizing interaction and mutual support.

One of the ways I give back (or pay it forward, however you want to look at it) is to spend time in one of the discord servers I'm a part of, giving feedback and helping people learn better blogging skills. (Even though I'm a teacher there, I'm still learning all the time!) I love that there are many places people can go to find assistance and support for success on Steemit.

This is why this platform gives me hope for the world, because we are constantly engaging in positive community building, as well as people-powered initiatives that are changing lives around the planet. We are communicating, sharing ideas, listening to each other and learning about different cultures, different perspectives.

I don’t have much fiat to send to causes right now, which is hard, yet I want to contribute!

On Steemit I can earn money and share money. Steemit allows me to chip-in to causes big and small. It’s inspiring to be able to upvote or send Steem when I can, to support initiatives that are feeding the hungry, improving lives, funded by Steem, operating internationally as a network of human beings who care about each other.

So many people are being generous and sharing their Steemit wealth. Contests like this one by @dobartim, the delegation from @karensuestudios, and countless other initiatives are giving others a helping hand.

This is happening. This is grassroots people empowering people.

It makes me so excited! So hopeful!

In a world that can be overwhelmingly negative, this collective empowerment through the blockchain blows my mind and makes my heart fill with gratitude.

heart hands
photo: Anthony Delanoix


How Steemit and Discord impact my life as an artist (and human).


Since joining Steemit and diving into many communities on Discord, I’ve made friends around the world. Genuine friends, whose voices I’ve heard and whose posts have made me laugh and cry.

I adore the friends I've made through Steemit. They have become my family.

There are people in Discord rooms at any hour, because this community is so international. If I’m excited about something, having a rough day, or just wanting some company, I can find a friend. And so many artists!

I can interact with people on a deep level via Steemit and Discord. I can be vulnerable, honest, and freely creative in my posts. People actually read them. What a wonderful thing!

As a writer and singer, as an artist, as someone who must express in order to fully feel alive, to have people see my work, read my words, and respond with encouragement — this is huge! This is satisfying on a soul level.

When someone on Steemit reads my post, takes the time to comment, and authentically connects to what I’m sharing, that connection enhances my life. I’m exceptionally grateful for this chance to find creative connection and interaction with others.

Hooray for the ocean of Steemit!

ocean


The ripple effect of happiness.


Before this post starts sounding like “join Steemit and everything will be better,” that’s not what I’m getting at. It isn’t easy to consistently create quality content, to be active in communities and participate with enthusiasm every day.

It isn’t easy, but I do enjoy it.

In fact, I enjoy it much better than the blogging I was doing before. It does help that I’m earning cryptocurrency while I go. It isn’t a ton of money, but I don’t want to put my kids in daycare to get a job, and even earning a little bit is nice. I know over time it will grow.

I can help feed my family. As a stay-at-home mom, that provides more than the logistics of money and being able to keep my children close, it gives me a sense of empowerment.

But beyond the money factor, there is a deep happiness that comes from the creative freedom I have, from the interaction happening with friends all over the world. A sense of belonging.

This positivity contributes to my mental health. I have a history with anxiety and depression, and these things are managed on a daily basis (yoga helps). Some days are easier than others, but since coming into this supportive community of Steemit, my overall happiness has increased. How nice!

Because of the people I interact with via Steemit, my outlook is more consistently positive. I bounce back easier, and there’s always someone to talk to if I need them. On the same token, I’m there to listen if someone else needs me.

You never know people’s full story. Even a casual kindness can mean the world.

joy


The importance of self-care.


The one downfall to Steemit and Discord is it’s easy to stay up way past my bedtime having fun with people, reading/commenting/upvoting posts, or creating my own content.

I’ve had to focus on self-care, making sure I get enough sleep, play outside, and put family first. I’m no fun when I’m zombie-mommy.

In some ways, the limits Steemit puts on voting power is helpful. It forces me to take a break. I think all of us encounter burnout at some point, so this is a gentle reminder to take care of yourself. (I need the reminder as much as anyone.)

I’m in this for the long haul, so regular self-care is a necessity. If you’re one of those people who pushes yourself, maybe it would feel good take a deep breath and have a little stretch. I know I need one. ;)

yoga
photo: Nat Anfield | model: Katrina Ariel


More gratitude and a shout out to #teamgood.


Thank you for reading! Without you, my friends, my readers, my existence on Steemit would be lacking the fun and meaningfulness I speak of in this post. You’re the best!

Thanks to the contest sponsors @dobartim, @flysky, and @aidasfg7. Congratulations to all the winners who have been chosen so far!

Thank you also to @battleaxe for starting #teamgood, an initiative that encourages Steemians to share the love and make a difference.

A portion of the rewards from this post will go to @youarehope.

#TeamGood


What about you? How has Steemit impacted your life?

Peace. @katrina-ariel

linebreak

Katrina Ariel
All photos mine unless otherwise credited.

linebreak

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

the alliance

steemusa

The Alliance and SteemUSA Banners by @bearone

Sort:  

The beautiful people. The beautiful, beautiful people.

These are the riches of this platform, and you, my dear, reside firmly here now among us, a nugget of pure golden energy reflecting like diamonds on all of us in this post.

I am so pleased to know you.

Likewise, my friend. You make my heart glow. Shine on! 💖

This is happening. This is grassroots people empowering people.

Yep. You're exactly right. :-)

THANK YOU so much for thinking of You Are Hope and TARC for this. You're a wonderful, giving person and Steemit is so lucky to have you.

Thank YOU for helping the animals! I'm so glad I can contribute in this way. Yay for grassroots evolution!

I find much of your post resonating with me. And great reminders: get on discord and self care.

You are a true joy to read here so as much as you feel steemit gives to you, you give back to us as a community.

Thank you so much for your support, @big.mama. Discord is great, but self-care is even more important. I keep reminding myself that taking care of my family and myself has to come first. 💖

You are perfectly correct with this post, the people on Steemit and Discord make this whole social experience for me. It would of course help me out alot if the majority of people on here were not awake when I am supposed to be sleeping! Still, all we can do is make the best of what we can when we can.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Oh dear. Yes, that whole time thing. I hope you got some sleep last night. It was fun to have you in the Pirate Starship with us, though. You're one of the people who makes this place amazing! ((hugs))

I could see that you are really a good writer...good luck and continue to be a blessing to others. God bless @katrina-ariel ! I am one of your new followers/friends...

Thank you for your kindness. Many blessings to you as well. :)

I support you, hope you can be a winner yes because you want to share with people who need more. Keep the spirit @katrina-ariel

Thank you sincerely for your support! My best to you. :)

What an amazing post! And you know I feel you 100% and I completely agree with everything! Nothing to add!
mic drop <3

Thank you for being such a supportive friend, @meanmommy33. I'm so grateful that Steemit has given me the chance to connect with people around the world, including you! 💖

awwwww <3 <3 <3 I really wish to meet you in person, SOON <3 :*

I would love that!

I'm very delighted for you @katrina-ariel..

You embody what this platform should be all about!

Community support, giving back, positivity and becoming a life long learner are qualities we should all aspire to and ones you so eloquently speak of in your post.

I'm going to share this post on the BuddyUp #post-spot channel where we highlight excellent content and writing in hopes of getting you some more exposure.

I really enjoyed your post and you made me really consider all the great things Steemit can accomplish if we all work together.

I hope you win!!!!

Wow, thank you so much! I agree, as we all work together, we can do some amazing things! I appreciate you sharing this post, and love your positive energy. So glad to meet you here! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62