My first post, a bit about myself on coins and brief talk about an early silver pandasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsilvergold4 years ago (edited)

Well first of all, I am quite new on steemit and would like to learn more about steemit while making friends in this community. I might need some beginners guides to read about how to use steemit to be able to use this platform better. For people who like to skip to my first coin showoff, you can skip the next two paragraphs.

I am silver-horde on steemit (or The_One on Numista), I first know about steemit via a discord group called #steemitsilvergold (https://discord.gg/jtFsVk3). I've been there for quite some time and the group is excellent, you should join it if you like to chat with people in steemit community.

Other than steemit, I also use platforms like Numista, colnect, and ucoin to manage my coin collection as well as learning numismatics. In fact, I am quite active on Numista I am currently a Numista referee as well as an admin for Numista discord (https://discord.gg/Sx4TmcE). Part of the reason why I started to use steemit after sometime in the #steemitsilvergold discord group is because I am hoping to meet enthusiastic collectors helping out coin catalogs on Numista, as well as promoting both the #steemitsilvergold and Numista server.

Now, about the coin... 🥁
IMG_0767.JPG
IMG_0768.JPG

The two pictures above are the obverse and reverse of the 1989 China 10 yuan silver panda. It is the first silver panda that is in brilliant uncirculated (although can look like proof in some pieces with ultra cameo) condition, and the first made in 999 fine silver 1 troy ounce when all silver pandas in previous years were either made in different purities of silver or in odd weights (which I might write more about it in my future posts). In fact, this was the first silver panda intended to be sold as silver bullion instead of a numismatic product by the Chinese government, although was quickly treated as a numismatic product again by the secondary market.

The 1989 silver panda was made in larger quantities than other early pandas in the 80s and 90s. It has a relatively large mintage of 255,000 - a mintage that is still quite small comepare with mintage of many silver pandas in recent year, which are made in millions. I was fortunate enough to buy this coin slightly above premium a few years ago, which lead my interest on Chinese coins ever since.

If you like what I posted today. Please upvote the post and follow my profile. I will try to make new post every week to share more about coins.

Thanks for your reading

Sort:  

Hi. I am not posting that much anymore but upvoting daily. I have the whole panda serie 1989-2019 in silver BU. And quite some gold ones (2014 onwards). Have fun!

good for you, the early Pandas especially year 2000 are quite expensive.

Welcome to Steemit! It's really a great place for the enthusiast writers and for the people who want to share their good work with the world! :)

Finally! 😄

It is great to see you actually ON steemit and not just in the #steemsilvergold discord. And sharing a cute panda to boot.

Welcome!

will put more in the future

Welcome, @silver-horse! I hope you will enjoy your days here, and I look forward to learning more about you and your interests! If I can be of help in any way, please do not hesitate to ask or any of the great peeps of SSG!
I like Pandas! It is a great Bullion coin. Thanks for the background on the coin!
Have a great day, and welcome once again.🌺🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am @silver-horde haha, but I would like to own a silver horse one day

Welcome to Steem silver-horde! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome!
Just to speak the same language, our group is steemsilvergold, not steemitsilvergold. That is my OCD talking...
Again, be very welcome to our little group.

yeah... sorry for the typo haha

Congratulations @silver-horde! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome @silver-horde to #steemsilvergold on Steemit, I recall seeing your name on Discord a few times. I'm on the Numista Discord as well but not often. I do use the Numista website database often as a part of my research. Glad to see you here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to see you finally posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78