Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge #71--The Traveling Mind



The longings of yesteryear,
fall.
Like the denouement,
of morose narratives.

They are as heavy as the moments we mourn.

The mind never rests.
Why always is it searching?
Why is it never at ease?

Are we merely restless beasts?
Tossed about ceaselessly in this brief,
this tumultuous period called life?

Reflection dictates,
we take down,
the moth eaten diaries;
to flip through,
the pages,
of the things that were.



Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 5/17/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Yes, friend, we seek to improve ourselves. For this reason, we always complicate our lives to give us a satisfaction.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Reading a poem that talks about the unsteadiness of the human nature and the and the taunting memories of yesteryears, I'm sure must do a thing or two the emotions of any reader.

The irregular lines pattern is cool as it encourages a reader to focus more on the lines.
But don't you also think the end punctuations are actually unnecessary, as the lines are not joined after all?

Poetry that shuffles the noise deck that lives in our mind
tyrannizing our serenity, imposing its rhythm of advancement and movement without rest, always changing, always wanting more.

The yearnings of yesteryear,
fall

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85