POETRY | DAY 4 | Lost Worlds

enter image description here


Lost Worlds, poetry by @naquoya.

Day 4 of 100 for @d-pend's Poetry Challenge


Lost Worlds

You look but it's no longer there
No longer where it used to be
Perhaps it has fallen, lingering where eyes do not see
Collecting dust
Like a fine layer of coating that seeks to deceive
To trick the eyes, and thus the mind
So you look elsewhere so you may find
That which has sat unnoticed for so long

Has it sailed away on a breeze's sway,
Into worlds that don't conform to the rules
Enforced on us?
Destined to meet with the other lost items
All such wonders that failed to bring delights any more
And so they vanished, they faded away
Into atoms, molecules and moments of decay
A moment that brings delay

In panic do you throw the world into disarray?
Trying to find that which sat and minded it's own business
Minded it for so long
Watching you as you worked
As you tended to life's every care
But failed to see the beauty that dwelt so near
Like a mirror, but do you understand
It's been missing since it all began

And so you look for that which is no longer there
But its existence is a moot affair
It was more than just a dream
More than just an ethereal wave of the cosmic stream
That carves its way through rock and field
And brings to you a thought so pure
Like a lost gem of such repute
A world reborn to bring you joy


Reading Notes: For the purposes of the 100 Day Poetry Challenge, which is explained in more detail here and here, I would consider myself to be an intermediate level poet. I have been writing for many years, but with no formal training. I just go with what feels right to me at the time. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.



enter image description here



Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
Potpourri | My Steemit Poetry Collection



Sort:  

Simply beautiful, finding the essence of ourselves. Very meditative really.

Thanks you. Very much about finding our essence.

Thanks for your message and for dropping by my blog !! I’ve added some notes to my poem if you would like to see. #niki
Your poem feels good and I enjoyed the way you made it flow.
From my perspective It seems that you are talking about making a crazy mess out of a wardrobe when you have to find something you needed at the very last minute. Like that particular top in a mountain of clothes five minutes before getting picked up by your date.
Or maybe you are making a reference to the people whom we take for granted and treat as such. How we only realize how much they mean to us when they are gone?
Lol ... hope you don’t mind my interpretation of your work!I look forwards to reading more of your poetry:)

Thank you. I don't mind your interpretation at all. In fact I encourage it. What you describe fits, and on one level that certainly works. The misplaced item, the forgotten object. I use these ideas and concepts as metaphors for a deeper sense of misplacement.

Has it sailed away on a breeze's sway,
Into worlds that don't conform to the rules
Enforced on us?

If I may share my own thoughts (which don't detract from yours), this section hints at something beyond the physical. Perhaps a deeper, more subtle world. Perhaps the lost item relates to that domain?

Like a mirror, but do you understand
It's been missing since it all began

Here the implication is that that which is missing has always been missing.

And brings to you a thought so pure
Like a lost gem of such repute
A world reborn to bring you joy

And finally, this last section, which speaks of a magical sense of renewal, born from the search for that which was supposedly lost. I tend to write more towards the mystical and spiritual side of things. Sometimes darker, but not always. But having said all of that, again I would say these are my thoughts and ideas. It was also deliberately layered in the allegorical also, so the physical sense of loss and misplacement would shine through.

You are in no way an intermediate,
the way you arrange your words
suck people into your world.
Keep up the good work

You're too kind. Thank you for your feedback, and reassurance.

How modest you are. The poem is great. Greetings.

Thank you kindly. I'm so glad you like it :)

this really resonates with me, that search for something that we feel is missing in our lives, something that was taken. Yet in reality it is within us and all around us, The answers that so many search for are all within. I hope that is close to your meaning, but I am quite happy to get that from it. Really beautiful, thank you @naquoya

Thank you for sharing your insight and thoughts about this. It is indeed where I was going with this poem. Something that was taken, or even something that we've always had but never embraced and accepted.

This poem is amazing, i cant contain it in my head. The lost, the confusion, the fear all depicting in this beautiful piece.
And of course assurance of good. This is really good and not to talk of your modesty 😏

Glad you can feel those emotions from these words. Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79