Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #25 (Theme: Shrimp) - 2nd Entry: Seaweed Rice & Shrimp Burger with Homemade Wasabi Sauce

Growing up, I consumed a lot of seafood and shrimp is one of my favourites. Perhaps, this explains why I have a huge pregnancy craving for shrimp this week.

On Sunday morning, I had my husband's permission to go out for groceries shopping (These days, I am only allowed to go out when there's no snow and when the weather is nice. Luckily, it was a lovely day in Toronto).

In Toronto, the best place to pick up seafood would be Kensington Market or St. Lawrence Market. Since I am only allowed to go somewhere close, Whole Food in Yorkville was my only option.

Luckily, they did have a variety of shrimps to choose from. So, I picked up some tiger shrimps for my tempura shrimp sandwich that I posted yesterday. And, for my shrimp burger, I got the gulf white shrimps.

And, I made this Seaweed Rice & Shrimp Burger with Homemade Wasabi Sauce:

IMG_20180129_194937.jpg

IMG_20180129_195024.jpg

Here are the ingredients:

  • Sushi rice, Seaweed, Shrimp, Cotton Tofu, finely chopped Red and Green pepper, Mayo, Salt and Pepper, Spinach, Egg, Flour, Panko, Wasabi paste, Mayo, Cucumber

Here are the steps:

  • Cook rice, let it cool, mix in with some shredded seaweed, form two burger buns
  • Mince shrimp, mix in with tofu, chopped peppers, mayo, salt and pepper, drag in flour, egg and panko, then pan fry until crispy
  • Mix cucumber, wasabi and mayo to make the sauce
  • Saute spinach
  • Assemble the burger together

IMG_20180129_215054_616.jpg

IMG_20180129_214943_329.jpg

This is my 76th sandwich, ho ho ho! Let's take a 'closer' look at this burger:
IMG_20180129_195007.jpg

I like that this burger is a lighter burger, perfect for me as I do need to watch what I eat these days. The shrimp patty is crispy, tasty and less greasy. The seaweed flavoured rice and the wasabi sauce also go so well together. All in all, It was another success and I was quite happy with this creation.

Sort:  

looks delicious!!!

what an amazing display!

76 haha jeezus. Getting close!

I love shrimp!

And that wasabi sauces sound dope too!

Good collection of ingredients going on here. At first glance you'd see it as a simple entity, however upon closer inspection, seems like a lot of different flavours working together.

Yes, love shrimp to the moon and back! BTW, are you gonna set the theme for this week's SSC? Looking forward to the next theme contest as last one was a huge success!!!!

I'll be setting the new theme for the first february contest week. Week 26 starts today so next week.

Was considering this theme:

The terrible, horrible, no good very bad, ugly sandwich.

or

Anything but wheat bread

or

Bacon Week!

Thoughts? I think the first one would be the most fun, just not sure that you can actually make something bad or ugly, hehehe sooooo you'd be at a disadvantage for sure ;)

on the other hand, it might be @bleedpoets week to shine HAHAHAHA

Go for the terrible, horrible , no good very bad, ugly sandwich man. It's tons of fun.

No worries - I would love a challenge. It's all about the fun!

ahhhh my mouth watered, even though I'm not one to like tofu, nor wasabi, it doesn't really make me feel well haha. But this looks AMAAAZING! I miss having seafood :(

Amazing work like always good luck on the contest :)

realy looks delicious. congratulations! and I am hungry now :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06