Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 10 (Theme: Apple) - Apple Pie Nut Butter Bagel (1st Entry)steemCreated with Sketch.

As mentioned in my veto judge review post, I visited the Niagara region in Ontario, Canada during Thanksgiving long weekend. I was surrounded by apples that are in season right now. Hence, that gives me the idea to use apple as the theme for week 10 of the contest.

I brought lots of apple home and when I was exploring sandwich ideas, I asked myself what kind of dish has apple in it, right away, I thought of apple pie. Personally, I prefer apple pie that has big chuck of apple pieces. Therefore, I thought why not make an apple pie sandwich?!

I marinated the idea a bit and went on with my day. When I was at the grocery store, I picked up some fresh bagel as well as some nuts for snacks at home later.

When I arrived home, I realized nut butter, perhaps, would go well with the apple. Please don't get intimidated with home-made nut butter. It's easy as 1-2-3. So, I went ahead and made what I called an Apple Pie Nut Butter Bagel. I was extremely happy that it turned out to be a success.

IMG_20171014_112312.jpg

IMG_20171014_112406.jpg

Here are the steps:

  1. Fry sliced apple in a pan with butter, and sprinkle cinnamon on top
  2. Blend almond and cashew nut in blender with coconut oil to make nut butter
  3. Spread nut butter onto toasted bagel and sandwich with deliciously fried apple slices

IMG_20171012_123933.jpg

IMG_20171012_124234.jpg

IMG_20171012_124518.jpg

IMG_20171012_125113.jpg

IMG_20171012_125150.jpg

The outcome is this amazing Apple Pie Nut Butter Bagel. It was truly heavenly and satisfying. Not only I had a quick and easy breakfast, I now have a new appreciation for this fantastic fruit that would keep me away from the doctor, aka ‘apple’.

You see, this is what I love about this contest. I love testing things out and when it works out well, it’s truly wonderful!

Hope you are inspired to create some apple dishes at home too.

IMG_20171014_112448.jpg

Sort:  

I'll remember this next time I'm out of bananas, looks way better than Brie 😆

Great - I think apple can make a good sandwich!

Looks great!

Thanks @roosterred - I took a week off and now I'm back to have some fun with you guys!

Jeezus! This looks incredible!

Big fan of nut butter. That's awesome you made it! @bleedpoet, nut butter goes great with bananas!

How do you like them apples!

I quite like them with apple. Since the apple was soften after pan-frying, the texture is similar with banana, and the taste was quite refreshing. It's like having apple pie, without the sweet surrounding, but with nutty flavours!

Ya i can see that actually apple pie sandwich hehe. I imagine the apple got a bit sweeter tho from panfrying right?

Yes, very sweet indeed! We grow some great apples in our 'background' here in Ontario and I wanted to enjoy them as much as possible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85