Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #42- Moroccan Souk Wrap

Since traveling to Morocco and tasting msemen, which is a flakey flatbread, I have been wanting to make it at home. When I saw this week's sandwich contest @jaybird, I was inspired to make a Moroccan flavored one. This was a perfect opportunity for me to make the flatbread.

IMG_8147.jpg

Ingredients

  • flatbread (flour, semolina flour, yeast, sugar, salt, butter, olive oil)
  • carrot puree (carrots, leeks, olive oil and salt)
  • chicken breast (ras el hanout, olive oil)
  • green harissa (cilantro, serrano peppers, parsley, cumin seds, coriander seeds, olive oil, garlic, lemon juice, salt)
  • radish condiment (lemon juice, salt)

After much research on the internet for a msmen recipe, I decided on this [recipe]because of the detailed instructions on how to make it.(https://www.linsfood.com/msemen-square-shaped-moroccan-pancake-rghaif/). You can substitute any flatbread or a ciabatta will also work. The dough might tear while you stretch it out, but you can just pinch the dough together. What makes this bread so special is that it's soft, chewy and crispy. You can pair it with savory fillings or eat it with butter and a drizzle of honey which is how they have it in Morocco.

IMG_8099.jpg

IMG_8105 (1).jpg

The chicken is coated in a classic Moroccan spice blend named Ras el Hanout which translates to "top of the shop blend." It can consist from 10 to 100 different spices depending on the blend. Usually there will always be cumin, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and other spices. The combination of sweet and savory spices make this blend truly flavorful and unique.

IMG_8062.jpg

One dish that was often served in many Moroccan restaurants was a cooked carrot salad. I took that idea and made a sandwich spread. I roasted some carrots with olive oil and salt and added some melted leeks which I had and pureed everything in a food processor.

IMG_8144.jpg

I wanted a hot sauce to accompany my sandwich so I made harissa, the famous North African chili sauce. Instead of the red version, I made a green harissa which is a blend of cilantro, parsely, green chilis and flavored with cumin seeds plus coriander seeds. I felt the sandwich was missing a crunchy element so I shaved some radish and seasoned it heavily with lemon juice and salt.

IMG_8146.jpg

To assemble the wrap, I spread a layer of carrot puree, then added slices of grilled chicken, topped with a generous dollop of harissa and some radish. Then it was all rolled up and served with extra harissa on the side.

IMG_8153.jpg

The ras el hanout spiced chicken was the star in the sandwich and all the other ingredients played a supporting role. The carrot puree added a touch of sweetness and the crunchy radish added some textural contrast and freshness to the wrap. The heat from the harissa was just enough to leave a lingering burn on my tongue. Now I just need some mint tea and I will feel as if I were back walking through the souks.

IMG_8148.jpg

Sort:  

Wow...this looks awesome. Love the moroccan inspiration. Msemen looks spot on to me. Also that Green Harissa sounds very interesting and flavourful.

Chicken breast looks so fresh too!

This a great entry, well presented too!

Thank you for your feedback @jaybird. I have to put on my creativity cap because your competition has so many talented sandwich chefs.

Hmm carrot puree. Love the morrocan flavors you used. Good luck ;)

Thank you @amy-goodrich. What is the name of your cafe? How many days are you open?

Nom Tom which means cake ready to eat in khmer. And tom is also the name of baker. Open 2,5 weeks now. Only bakery and small shop now. Coffee shop and food healt cafe to come later this day. Have a great day. Very hot here today.

That is such a well thought out name. How long did it take you to come up with the name? Does the humidity there effect your baking?

Our first idea was nom pang which means bread but there is a sandwich shop in phnom penh with that name already and so we came up with this one. Different baking style than in belgium that's for sure. Humidity is fine but for some things the heat is challenging. Have a great weekend

You opened!! Congrats!! All the best of luck @amy-goodrich🤗💪 im sure youre smoothies will go great there!

Thanks. looking forward to taking the bakery to the next levels.

This looks absolutely delicious @loveself, beautiful entry!

Thank you @lizelle and congratulations on your fantail potato win!

& Congratulations with your SSC win, this really was a lovely sandwich entry, I want to try & make this flatbread, sounds delicious!

The Moroccan flavors sound delicious in this sandwich! Loved the flatbread as well:)
Great job @loveself! Im hungry now😄

Thank you @cooknbake and it's so nice to hear from you. How's the baby?

Oh my! I cannot fathom how tasty this wrap must be. All the flavors and aromas...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27