Steemitsandwichcontest week #40 Grilled Jerk Spiced Tempeh Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to #steemitsandwichcontest by @jaybird week #40

been13.jpg

Many people don't use tempeh regularly but it really is a great substitute for chicken which is what I have done here today.

Two years ago I was employed as a tempeh maker here in Montreal. Tempeh apparently originated in Indonesia. It is a fermented product made of soy beans but can be made with other beans and even peanuts. The most popular is soy.

When I started with this company I didn't know anything about making it and I had only consumed it twice in my life. Once I loved it and the next time I hated it.

There I learned to make tempeh, by weighing out the soy beans, in a muslin cloth sack than throwing about ten sacks in a large cauldron of boiling water to boil until tender but not too tender. It is a delicate operation. Then I had to drain the water and quickly cool the beans with cold water. After I had slung the heavy sacks of beans into a machine which would dry them, I removed the sacks then put them in another type of tumbler. There I would add a few teaspoons or so of spores, which are a fungus or culture and let the tumbler go until the appropriate mixing time was up.

The sacks were removed then put in a weigh machine where they would be weighed into plastic bags with holes in them.

After they were tamped down and put on racks then distributed to the incubator where they would sit for approximately 30 hours, sometimes less. The people in charge of "harvesting " the tempeh knew what it should look like when it was done.

This particular tempeh comes from the company that I worked for and is a type with quinoa and sesame.
been2.jpg

Marc worked with me and soon we were promoted to the new kitchen, where we took the raw tempeh and cooked it with different flavors to be shipped to the stores, and the company restaurant.

Today I experimented with a flavor that we did not do at the company and I was really pleased. It was a jerk seasoning rub.
I made it with garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne, allspice, salt, pepper, nutmeg, cinnamon, thyme, oregano, cumin, ginger, and sugar. I mixed this with olive oil, lemon juice, and wine vinegar.

been1.jpg

After letting the tempeh marinate in the rub for a while I tossed it on the grill along with pears and onions mixed with olive oil and a little bit of cane sugar.

been.jpg

I had some plain cashew cream spread which I had made the other day from a puree of soaked cashews, salt, lemon juice, blended then put in a cheese cloth overnight to drain the liquid. I mixed with green onions, dill, salt and pepper.

been3.jpg

been5.jpg

been7.jpg

been6.jpg

After layering the grilled pears, onions, tomatoes and cream spread on multigrain bread, I couldn't help but add some fresh chives which are plentiful right now and I just love them.

been8.jpg

been9.jpg

been10.jpg

been14.jpg

been15.jpg

been11.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

I so wish I could taste that sandwich. The flavors sound amazing and I like the creaminess of the cashew spread. Great job....great sandwich!! Good luck.

It really was tasty I have to say. I really love spices and grilled food. Thanks so much @tesscooks4u !

That sandwich looks devine :) Would love to have a bite!

Thanks I wish I could give you a bite haha!

Oh myyy, this looks soo good runs to buy tempeh 😊

Thanks! It really was delicious. Enjoy yours!

Truely a great sandwich, some people may find the cotton like mold on surface of tempeh kinda gross, but I love It.

I have gone through those phases too. I love it then I hate it. But that was when I spent a couple of years making it haha. I love it again.

Too much of a good thing will be boring sometimes, I guess it's just a human thing. Thanks for sharing another interesting history about you! Really made the dish and post very very interesting and enjoyable to read!

Thank you for that great compliment and for actually reading it. I don't expect people to read it when it's so long.

It's thing like that I enjoy reading, the meaning behind/ inspiration for the dish.

Like tofu, tempeh can be fantastic in the hands of someone who knows what they're doing. Otherwise... not so much. I think most of us are in the latter category. We need edjumacating. I'm very grateful for the tips.

I had a love hate relationship with tempeh but when I was away from cooking tempeh everyday, and being in Mexico where tempeh was not a word, I really missed it. We never imagined missing it. Today was the first time in over eight months and I realize, it's all about the marinating. Grilling doesn't hurt. Edjumacating is the key haha!

Wow what a sandwich amazing photos thank you for sharing the pictures and the recipe

I appreciate this comment so much thank you @technological!

I'm not much of a cook - but this looks simple enough to make. Have you tried cooking while sipping on a Porter?

I will try sipping on a porter. I think I will really like it haha.

Beautiful sandwich! I would love to try this. Sounds like it is pretty difficult to make, no?
The cashew spread looks very tasty. Amazing what you can do with cashews! Desserts to sandwich spreads, love it! Good luck!

Aww thanks @birdsinparadise ! It is simple if you have your own kitchen and can take the time. But really very simple. Cashews are a dream. A fairly costly one haha.

Awesome photos! yummy looking sandwich. I love it! Congrats! Upvoted & followed. :-)

I really appreciated that. Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23