Steemhomework: My Imaginary Friend (a short story)

in #steemiteducation7 years ago


In response to STEEMITEDUCATION HOMEWORK, I made another short story for everyone to enjoy. I hope you learn something and have fun at the same time. So, here it goes.



IMAGE SOURCE

My Imaginary Friend


Hi... Call me Kazu... I have always been alone in this world, ever since my parents and my younger brother died of that horrible car accident. Sometimes, I feel so bad for surviving alone. I thought that it would have been better if I died with them.

I am 23 years old now. It has been 10 years since the accident. At the age of 13, I stayed with my grandma but now that I’m capable, I decided to live by myself. I still visit grandma from time to time in the countryside,though . I owe her a lot!

Although I was with grandma during that time, I sometimes felt alone. It was difficult for a 13 year old city boy to suddenly lose his family and live in the countryside. Every day was a struggle until I met someone.

I was wandering in the woods behind grandma’s place when I met this boy. He was about my age and he told me his name was "Oji". We talked and played together. Every afternoon, we meet in the woods and I tell him about my activities at school. He was so eager to listen to my stories. I never felt alone anymore. He encouraged me to do my best at school and also to follow my dreams. He even told me how I should value my life, because not everyone is given a chance to live. We were both young, but I wonder why he had a really wide and deep perspective in life.

One time, I invited him over at grandma’s for dinner. He was in two minds at first, but I insisted. When we arrived, I was in shock when I saw grandma’s tears.

“What’s wrong, grandma?” I asked.

Grandma didn’t bother to answer, instead she kept staring at my friend, “Jin? Is that you?”

“Jin???” I thought to myself while trying to remember where I heard that name.
“Jin, it’s you right?” Grandma continued... “My son, please answer me...” she begged in between her sobs.

”Aha!” I now remember. He’s my dad’s younger brother who went missing in the woods when they were young. ”Wait... Is he my uncle?” I asked while watching grandma and Jin alernately.

“I’m sorry... mother...” Jin finally answered. “I’m sorry for leaving you very early. I didn’t intend to slip, get lost and disappear forever that day. Please forgive me, mother.” He begged.

“Oh.. My son.! There’s nothing to be sorry about. I just felt really sad when you left, but it wasn’t your fault. Nobody was at fault that time.” Grandma opened her arms asking my friend... my uncle to go to her embrace.

When they embraced each other, a bright light shone above Jin. “It’s about time for me to go, mom.” He said. He then looked at me, “Kazu, remember everything I told you, okay? I’ll be seeing your grandpa and your family now. Take good care of your grandma for us.”

With tears in my eyes, I answered, “Yes uncle Jin. Don’t worry. I won’t do anything reckless and I will take care of grandma. I will always remember you, grandpa and my family. Goodbye uncle.”

When he finally disappeared, I hugged my grandma.

“Thank you, Kazu. From now on, let’s take good care of each other.”


Ten years flew by fast. I’m now working in one of the big companies here in the city. I wanted grandma to come live with me, but she wanted to stay in our house in the countryside. So, whenever I have a holiday, I always do my best to visit her. When she misses me, she also comes to my place in the city and cooks for me. She’s still very strong at the age of 80. It really amazes me.

Ten years... it has been that long, but everything is still fresh to me... That once in my life, I had an imaginary friend... who was my uncle Jin.


THE END


@tegoshei



PS: In Japan, Oji/ojisan is a term you use to an older guy or an uncle... That might be the reason why Jin introduced himself as "Oji".


PPS: It's almost halloween, so I decided to make a story with a supernatural theme.



That'd be all for this homework, I hope you enjoyed and learned something from the story.



Let's all value the gift of life!



Thanks a lot for dropping by!
Love lots, @tegoshei

Sort:  

Hi @tegoshei

This is a nice story, i'm sorry for the loss of your parent and at the same time good that you finally met your lost uncle oji.

We never become strong if we dont past through some things in life, i have mine and same as you.

Its vice versa.

I just had something exactly like this on my blog but different in length. Happy steeming.
Good to comment on your post for the first time

@bollutech

Hi @bollutech... Thanks for your comment... This isn't about my life, though.. ^^ It's a product of my imagination... but of course, we're happy how the story went on for the character.. :)
See you around! ^^

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Nice story!
It made me remembered my uncle.
He was lost too. He was a taxi driver that time and the police investigation said that he was killed and buried somewhere by some ruthless holdaper. We never found his body til now, 20 years had passed since that day.

OMG! I'm really sorry to hear that... May he rest in peace... T_T Despite the years, I hope your family can still get justice for him...

Its hard for us because we dont really know who to blame about the incident. Even the police could hardly tell and its been 20 years. It's been way to long for the case to open again.

Without any lead, of course it would be very difficult.. I guess there are piles of cases like this in the Philippines, right? T_T and maybe even in other parts of the world... T_T

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13