Do children have to get homework?

image source

Is homework important to children? I personally feel that there are so many parents helping with the homework, that it is just a waste of time.

When I find a child is really struggling with something, I would prefer for him to stay after school and I will help him or her myself.

image source

I do not say all parents do this, but some of them try and make their children look brighter than they are by helping them with giving them the answer to a question.

The point is the child must learn how to do this by themselves, and if helped by parents there is no point to it at all.

Children spend long hours at school and I think they should be able to go and swim or play at home instead of doing homework.

image source

Make time in your class for those who struggle and help them till they understand.

Remember not everyone learn at the same rate, but once the do understand they will feel so much better than when they were told what the answers are.

image source

Life has changed so much from 30 to 40 years ago and children are definitely under more stress than we were.

What I do say is do not let them sit in front of the television or play games on their x box for more than an hour.  They do need to do these things but definitely not for hours on end.

image source

Children must ride a bike; games that make them move a lot is very important. This must happen outside with friends as it is not safe to be alone anymore.

image source

If you give children homework and they bring the homework for you to mark, please make sure they know how to do it, just to make sure that they did this on their own.

The same for tasks that you give them, I have seen things come into my class that look as it was done by a professional person.

Ask the children to make a dream board at home.

image source

It is so important for children to do these things on their own.  If everyone is helping how on earth will  children ever learn what to do.

Example of child dream board:

image source

Example of one made with a lot of help:

image source

It is very nice to get a high mark for a task that was made, but to me it was always the ones that I could see the child had made it himself.  No one is perfect, and these perfect tasks cannot be made by a child.

Parents who really care about their children will not help, except by buying some things the child ask for to make his task. 

The teachers, who really care, will see that this imperfect task was really made by the child on his or her own.

Children who do their own work and get good marks feel so proud; they will feel more proud than the child that was helped all the way.

image source

So I think homework is something that takes time away from children who could be children a little longer. Those who struggle can always ask their teacher for help, and any good teacher will help until the child understand.

But most important to me is that they are growing up and they have to work for the rest of their lives.  They cannot become children again.  Time to be a child is so short let them enjoy every minute of it as before you realise it is over and once they go to University, they are grownups.

So please people rather teach your children to listen in class and ask until they understand.

The rest of the time they must be able to play and be children.

This is only my opinion on homework, I do not say it is the alpha and the omega, but just think about it.

The one time they have to work at home is before a test, they should practice what they learnt and  be able to do everything they have learnt on their own and this to me is homework.

image source

Hope you agree and have a wonderful day from the Wild Coast 

Sort:  

Very wonderful post my dear madam @ methusalem, i love your post so much, thanks for sharing, keep going.....

Thank you so much.

I say no to homework for students... I see one of my neighbours every day trying to spend most of the time completing his homework... instead of doing some extracurricular activity (which are more important) ... moreover, I think homework make children dull.

I agree with you, thank you.

Homework is not really useful. Besides parents end up doing all the homework most of times

That is so true, let the child play.

Your work is well,,,,, you are very intellengt writer,,,,, i hope your success is very soon,,, i support you #Alltime but i want to you support me,,,thank you for sharing with #Us,,,

This remind me of the days where my husband's boss would get him to do her kid's school project! Parents have a terrible tendency of doing homework FOR their children.

It is so unfair to the child, he or she will never learn.

In my time, my parents didn't help with homework, unless I didn't understand then they explained through examples and I try to do the same now. I agree with you that parents shouldn't be doing homework for their kids no matter how difficult it might be. As a parent, if you're not able to help your child understand how to do the work then bring it to the attention of the teacher. Also, I see your other point. Kids spend about 6 hours in the classroom each day, they should have some time to do other things at home, like going for a walk, play at the park, or even help out with chores at home. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07